Defender Source Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1984 Defender 90. (first year of 90" wheelbase). I have been renovating this since 2006 and just put on the road this year. I replaced the original diesel as it was junk. I found a new in crate short block 2.5 NAG motor. Completed build with all new original LR parts. Everything works but I'm having an issue at highway speeds. I know it's not a flyer but it really struggles with maintaining rpms in 5th gear. If I go up even the smallest of inclines it drops down to 50 mph or less and I have to drop back to 4th and slowly build up the speed and rpms. On a flat paved road it will cruise at about 68 mph. flat out in 5th. That said when I'm at 50 mph and I want to speed up to say 60mph and I step on the throttle, I mean floor it; you can feel it hesitate or even misfire slightly for a couple of seconds before climbing to 60 mph and smoothing out. I was thinking it was starving for fuel so I have been using the manual choke to richen the mixture and it seems to eliminate the stumble. I realize that's not a solution by any means but I have been unable to find a mechanic near where I live who knows how to adjust the carb. Also with the choke partially on the speed drop off on hills is not as bad and recovery of original speed is much quicker. The motor now has about 2,500 miles on it. I'm not an auto mechanic but I do a lot of my own work on the vehicle. I have checked the timing and it's 16 deg. BTDC @ 2000 rpm. with the vac line pinched off. The points gap is 15-16 thou. I have no idea about the carb. So my question is where are the adjustment screws for each jet. and what is the starting adjustment ie: 1 1/4 turns or 2 turns etc. From there I would like to richen the mixture for top end and see how it performs. Here are the numbers I pulled off the carb tag. Weber carb # 32/34 DMTL and 226700 7 and 6-101-179-00 also the LR # for carb is # ETC6350 . I believe LR comm