Defender Source Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, let me preface this request with the fact that I am a novice in the Defender arena. I have owned an LR3 but would like to jump into the Defender series- specifically to one of the older models- I am looking for RHD, Gas or Diesel. I would prefer something in the project car end of the spectrum- I do not need a full restore.

I have been digging around and have been confused with a number of issues I am hoping the experts here can help clarify.

-What info do you need to confirm to ensure that the import was done properly- is there a checklist (VIN- Check, Serial Numbers- Check, etc.)

-What are the reliability issues with the Gas engine vs the Diesel? What do the drivers prefer?

-What other questions should I be asking?​

Any help or leads to a new truck would be a huge help to this novice- just getting my feet wet in this area.

Thanks again for any help you can provide.

-DMS

·
Premium Member
2,112 Posts
David:

-Make sure it has a clean title.

-You'll probably want either a 200 or 300Tdi. It's often recommended to buy a diesel & put a better diesel in rather than go gas-diesel.

-Rust is a big issue. Budget & plan on a chassis & bulkhead replacement, maybe footwells too.

Good luck!

Paul.

Reactions: dskinlo

·
Premium Member
1,345 Posts
Why do you want RHD ???

Have a LHD 1984 110 V8, recent import.
Condition just ok. Not a restauration project but can use some attention

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
LHD or RHD

Why do you want RHD ???

Have a LHD 1984 110 V8, recent import.
Condition just ok. Not a restauration project but can use some attention
I would consider LHD- honestly I do not have a strong preference- just trying to find a clean truck to restore.

DMS

·
Registered
111 Posts
To be imported it needs to cleared by customs; once the import is done, and the vehicle has a US title, it can be modified in many different ways.