Defender Source Forum banner

1 - 20 of 77 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im going to shoot for the stars right off the bat, and ask if anyone has a wiring diagram (that a novice can understand) of the harness from a 3.9 V8, which will tell me what every plug and wire is for. I have searched everywhere online that I can think of, and all I have found are diagrams that dont match what I have in front of me, or diagrams that are not detailed enough. The engine/wiring harness came from an RRC, and there are multiple plugs and wires on it that I cant figure out. I also need to know where the harness/ECU gets power, and which wires connect to the ignition coil. I have fuel supplied to the injectors, and the engine turns over, but I have no spark.

I am completely stumped, and I am sure its because I am a rookie, so do me a huge favor and go ahead and treat me like I dont know anything, rather than assume Ive tried what you might consider to be obvious solutions. My level of frustration has reached epic levels, so I am throwing myself at the mercy of this forum for any and all help. :icon_peace:

I am sure I have left out some details that some of you might need to evaluate my problem, so dont hesitate to ask.

TIA,
Kent

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,109 Posts
A LOT of stuff you will not need mate...the engine came out of a classic RR...it had electric seats, ride height adjustors, bunch of ECU stuff, A/C, etc etc - that you are not going to need. - why don't you just run the basics - coil, ignition, dizzy, battery, alternator and see what that gives you...should be able to get a spark at the spark plug?

·
Premium Member
1,046 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
All I'm trying to do is run those basics, but it doesn't seem to be working out.

·
Premium Member
3,347 Posts