Defender Source Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have been trying to convince Holley to build a single barrel EFI for over 10 years and they finally released one.
Should arrive today.
Stay tuned.
This should be a direct bolt on for the 2.25 series engines and the Chevy inline 6 conversions we build for the Defender.
We will immediately manufacture an adapter to mount this EFI on the 2,5 and 3.0 liter GM 4 cylinder engine conversions we build for the Series II and III.
Am running the first small BBD 2 barrel on my daily driver that was purchased before they became available on the website.
Very excited by this new development that will become a recommended component for the engine conversions I've been building since 1994.
Holley EFI 550-552 Holley Sniper EFI Autolite 1100 - Gold

·
Premium Member
684 Posts
Pretty good price and targeted toward the smaller engines. Should be a big hit with the smaller sports cars. This is EXACTLY what a 2.25 petrol needs.

Of course 3 years after getting my home brew EFI figured out, they come out with this.

·
Premium Member
11,216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The advantages over a carb are overwhelming, especially when you consider a vehicle with a sniper gets parked for a year with a battery maintenance charger.
You jump in and atart the engine with a Sniper.
The EFI adjusts to the old less volatile gasoline and the engine starts and runs fine.
Then you fill-up and it adjusts again.
You drive up into the mountains and it adjusts again, then to sea level and again the Sniper adjusts.

This is unlike the vehicle parked with a carb filled with gas that is gummed-up with a stuck float valve after being parked for 6 months and won't run properly, if at all.

Reactions: Brrrrt

·
Registered
163 Posts