Defender Source Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Decided I should try and salvage my headliner today. I figured I'd try fiberglass repair as I've never tried it before and I have no idea what I'm doing.

Started by tearing everything off a while back, some came off easy while other parts took chunks of the structure with it. I would have liked to just scratch the foam off like I've seen in videos but mine was detached in a lot of places so I tried to get it all and made a huge mess.

Now I went along and screwed the edges into scrap pieces of wood to keep them straight and hopefully the fiberglass will hold it strong enough not to have waves but leave it flexible enough to re-install. I rolled on a first coat of resin, took 3 liters (Canadian lol) and really soaked it up. When it as still tacky, almost wet I put some matting over the holes and soaked them. Hindsight I should have put something like tape or whatever over the hole and it would have been easier to keep it straight, getting real messy at this point. I can always use body filler to smooth it out after. It says it hardens in about 30 minutes so I thought I would have to work fast but using a 4" roller it really didn't take long to do all three panels.

Just finished lunch so I can go see what kind of mess I got. Feel free to give me any pointers like don't touch your nose etc.....

Sean

Attachments

·
Registered
690 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok so I learned if it’s thicker it dries quicker. I poured some left over in a depression and it was dry while the rest was tacky still. So I decided to run strips along the edges and put on another coat.

it suddenly started to gel just like body filler so I scraped that off and now I wait.

Sean

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,353 Posts