Defender Source Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good evening my fellow crusaders,
I have begun my journey into the land of GM engines into LR machines. I am somehow inserting a L83 with a 6L80 into a 1986 RHD Land Rover 90 (Defender).
I've been following the guides posted by whom I consider my swap forefathers: Nick, Factoid, and Andy. I know there are many of you out there but these are the most intensive documentations of LSx and LT swaps. I will be doing my best to document my build through this forum. I am in the process of building a BOM as well for everything I have spent money on. I have a budget of $10k that I will surely bust. With your help I can hopefully stay around this ball park number.
I have already completed a mild resto on the visual portion of this legendary vehicle. See pictures below.
I am by no means an expert, just a regular hobbist car mechanic. I have spent 12 years enlisted in the Air Force as a diesel generator mechanic. I was stationed in England for 5 years and that made buying a Defender and restoring it very inexpensive. Now after importing it (at gov expense :D), I can start playing with the power plant. I will apply work ethic, organization, and troubleshooting skills to this project as I do in the military. I will still be very much in need your help.
I have done ALL the work myself. I've learned the easy and hard ways in most cases while working on this machine. I never outsource work because I have faith I can do it myself (even if I have to do it 4 times). The most important lesson I have received from my experience is to always have an open mind. Someone, somewhere has already done what you are doing so ask for guidance. I am a youtube university student and will always be one. Hats off to everyone who helps and shares knowledge. I am now trying to do my part.