Defender Source Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
1986 Petrol 110 started up just fine this morning. Tried restarting it about an hour later and it just wont turn over. It will not start and stay running unless I have the gas pedal to the floor. As soon as I release the gas pedal, the truck dies. When I turn the key to the ON position I can hear the fuel pump engaging, so I have no idea what else it could be. I am new to the defender world and appreciate any help that I can get. Ideas??

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
4cyl And I was working on an LED lighting upgrade so is it possible that I pulled something loose at the fuse panel? Could that be a cause? I’m sorry for not being more educated on these things. But I am trying to learn!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I finally got it started again -once- but it sounded like it was idling VERY high. Like I had my foot on the gas, but I didn’t. Now, it’s bogging down again and won’t start/stay running unless the gas pedal is floored. All was normal until today.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Usually I turn the key and let the fuel pump
prime, pump the gas twice, then start her up.

·
Premium Member
9,591 Posts
Where are you located?

The 17h, 2.5 Petrol should have a manual choke.
It sounds like the choke is pulled and the engine is cutting out.
That or the engine is running in a fuel starved state due to poor fuel delivery.

There is a little fuel filter housing on the right outrigger just under the bulkhead that could be the problem.
These fuel filters are in such an out-of-the-way-location that they rarely get changed so after a while they clog-up.
When we encounter this issue, we replace the entire fuel line from the tank and replace the electric fuel pump with a mechanical fuel pimp mounted to the side of the engine.
The 17H camshaft has a fuel pump lobe, so it can run the mechanical pump.