Defender Source

Defender Source (http://www.defendersource.com/forum/)
-   Defender Technical Discussions (http://www.defendersource.com/forum/f6/)
-   -   Death wobble, what the bell is going on? Help (http://www.defendersource.com/forum/f6/death-wobble-what-the-bell-is-going-on-help-50828.html)

CavemanDiesel January 9th, 2014 09:23 AM

Death wobble, what the bell is going on? Help

I have been driving my 90 for 2 years, about 3 months ago I had a shake develop in the right front tire. It would start as a wheel hop and then turn into a violent wobble shaking the whole truck. It does not happen all the time, but when is does it's the same speed, about 45 mph. When I got the truck the steering box was leaking badly. I replaced the box and the death wobble is still there, I had it aligned. What is it? Could it be shocks? Or something else? Thanks in advance for any advice.

waveridin1959 January 9th, 2014 09:35 AM

Tire Balance?
Swivels?
Wheel Bearings?

Jack up the wheel and see how much play there is. Up and Down and Side to Side.

thewap January 9th, 2014 09:37 AM

u joints?

Bill Larson January 9th, 2014 09:39 AM

Lots of stuff on this, you'll need to isolate the problem, as I have found primarily with the advice from others (thanks again JSBriggs) that there is more than one cause...seemingly it always goes back to the swivel pre loads. That said there are other contributing factors causing your harmonic issues, it could range from bad shocks, bad tire, stabilizer...and so on. Good Luck and find a knowledgeable LR mechanic.

corrumpu January 9th, 2014 09:55 AM

I've had the death wobble on my RRC 95... I just shotgunned the issue by doing all the suspension bushings, new dampener and tie rod ends. It was all needed anyway and I didn't have the time or inclination to pinpoint the issue. All of those items on inspection looked tired.