hello members - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Community Announcements & Support > Say Hello! New Member Intros.

Old January 31st, 2016, 09:22 AM
m009490
David
looking

Smile hello members

Dear members
It is a pleasure to join you and take my first step into the Land Rover world.
I am a Scot, emigrating in a few months to the United States to join my dear wife who is from AR.
I am not a mechanic, but a surgeon and want to learn a little more about about cars and mechanical engineering and develop a new hobby. I wanted to combine a rebuild project and something of the old country in my new life in the US. I have a nostalgia for Land Rover from military days and after plenty research think a defender rebuild/restoration would be a good choice for me. I have joined the forum to learn from others experience and expertise and educate myself about the defender and its heritage.

My first goal is to decide how best to proceed in acquiring an appropriate vehicle and that is where I start today.

I have understood in detail the process and pitfalls of importing a vehicle from outside the US and perhaps the need for a reliable importer/facilitator etc. Ive also understood the issues of registration and VIN integrity to rebuild projects and the variable integrity of some folks trying to make money at our expense. I do not wish to build a 'modern' defender such as seen with companies like Arkonik, but rather enjoy the restoration process, research and build myself, and as faithfully as possible/reasonable retain the personality and essence of the Defender with discrete upgrades or modernising.