(Another) New member in NoVA (Fairfax) - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Community Announcements & Support > Say Hello! New Member Intros.

Old April 23rd, 2015, 02:13 PM
matt.d
Matt
None (yet)

(Another) New member in NoVA (Fairfax)

Hi all, I'm Matt, a new member in northern Virginia. I'm not an owner yet so I'm mulling whether to become one.

I'm looking for a hobby car that I can use (1) to go trail driving and (2) to learn how to work on cars, basically. I've always loved the look of Rovers and have heard that their engines are - well, maybe not "reliable" in the sense that Japanese cars are (maintenance free) but that Rover engines, especially older ones, are "bulletproof" so long as they are regularly maintained.

I'm most interested in either a "station wagon" model Series or a Defender between 1969 and 1989 - but as a newbie I'm most interested in learning about these cars and making the right choice for me.

I have plenty of other questions but I'll post them in separate threads.

Thanks in advance for any responses and for making this forum available!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old April 23rd, 2015, 07:05 PM
Firemanshort
David Short
1980 Stage One 109

Registry
Depends on how you want to use it - don't let the fancy cool spring guys seduce you. For entry into mechanics - a Series Rover is as simple as it gets.

If you must have air con and a radio - well I guess you should buy a Discovery
Sterling, VA
Old April 23rd, 2015, 08:24 PM
matt.d
Matt
None (yet)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firemanshort View Post
Depends on how you want to use it - don't let the fancy cool spring guys seduce you. For entry into mechanics - a Series Rover is as simple as it gets.

If you must have air con and a radio - well I guess you should buy a Discovery.