67 IIa Questions from a Newbie - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Community Announcements & Support > Say Hello! New Member Intros.

Old June 28th, 2015, 08:12 PM
uncbsba
Jason Hilton
None

67 IIa Questions from a Newbie

I need some advice from the crew here. I am relatively new to Rovers and have been working on buying a 67 SIIa out of VA and have run into some interesting hurdles. First, based on the photos and advice from Roversnorth, it looks like the body and mechanicals may be from a 69 bugeye with the headlamp holes covered and a 67 grill. The title shows a 67 and serial number show a 66. I can only assume that this may have been two rovers that were combined to make one good truck. Now, she has a new galvanized frame which is great. Problem is, it has a clear VA title, but there isn't a serial number anywhere on the vehicle.

Is this normal on these old rovers? Has anyone else run into this with their Series? I just want to make sure I'm not buying a Series (in relatively good shape I might add) that I won't be able to sell on or will end up being a DMV nightmare.

Thanks in advance for helping this novice out.

Best,

Jason
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old June 28th, 2015, 09:01 PM
o2batsea
Bill Adams
66 109 sw 94 lwb

Registry
Since early 2A fenders are very very very very very difficult to come by, some people just bolt on later ones if they bash the originals.
Another thing that was popular years ago was to put the later wings with headlights on in addition to the headlights in the grille so you had 4 lights.

1966 109 5 door wagon 300Tdi "spermaceti fueled"
1994 RRC LeWiB "ruining the air behind me"
1968 2A 88

All my troubles are Rover
Old June 28th, 2015, 09:08 PM
cgalpin
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team

Registry
Jason, welcome to the forum.