Won't start - Distributor - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old October 7th, 2006, 02:20 PM
CGunther
Christian Gunther
'94 D90

Won't start - Distributor

I was changing the vacuum advance today, and after getting everything back together my truck won't start. I think it has to do with when I pulled off the rotor arm, the assembly it is attached to lifted up. It moves too freely now. Anyone have any tips? I am very new at this.

Thanks in advance.
Advertisement

Old October 7th, 2006, 06:06 PM
Andrew Vick
Andrew Vick
95 D90

You're going to have to pull the distributor back out, and the parts below the rotor have to be reassembled. Should be a couple of weights and springs. Is the rotor just flopping back and forth? Do you have a manual?
Old October 7th, 2006, 06:12 PM
CGunther
Christian Gunther
'94 D90

It is. I actually didn't pull the distributor, just the cap, and the rotor arm to get the case off to install the vacuum advance. When I put it back together the rotor arm was point at about 11 instead of 1. I cranked it a couple of times.

I have a manual, but haven't done this before. Did I mess up the timing, or is there a way for me to re-seat the rotor in the right position?

Thanks again,
Christian
Advertisement

Old October 7th, 2006, 06:48 PM
Andrew Vick
Andrew Vick
95 D90