Wiring questions for split charge system - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old April 21st, 2007, 07:04 AM
aclarke
Andrew Clarke
1986 110 CSW 200tdi

Wiring questions for split charge system

Hi. I'm trying to install an X-Charge ( http://www.x-eng.co.uk/X-Charge.asp ) split charge system on my 110. It's an '86 110 with a 200tdi retrofit. I've never done anything like this before and I'm sort of stuck.

There's a wire that the instructions say goes from the alternator to the battery charge indicator lamp on the dash. I'm supposed to splice into this and run that wire to the relay that came with the X-Charge. I found the wire, but I'm not sure if the recommended procedure is to splice into it from the engine bay, or follow it into the cab and do it from there.

It seems like it would be easier to splice into a wire that's already in the cabin, as then I don't have to figure out how to get a wire through the bulkhead, and worry about it melting on something or getting shredded somehow. But I just have NO IDEA which wire in the cabin would work, or even how to figure that out!

Also, am I better connecting my negative battery terminals together, or separately grounding each battery? I thought separately grounding each would be better but the instructions say to connect them together.

Thank you very very much,
- Andrew Clarke.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old April 21st, 2007, 02:56 PM
aclarke
Andrew Clarke
1986 110 CSW 200tdi

I got this sorted out. I used the green wire from my rear wiper switch to activate the relay.

- Andrew.
Old April 23rd, 2007, 09:11 AM
epninety
Dave Haynes
Ibex 240 2.8TGV

I've not looked closely at the X-Eng kit so don't know if its a straight relay, or voltage sensing, but if they wire to the alt. warning light I assume it's a straight switching relay.