Will 3 Carling switches fit here? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old July 14th, 2009, 09:59 PM
cabell's Avatar
cabell
Status: Offline
Cabell Crowther
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
Posts: 476
Will 3 Carling switches fit here?

The piece of paper approximates the 3 gang cluster size, but I'm not sure the depth to the wiper motor is adequate. I think the switches are about 1.5" deep. Anyone had any luck putting them here?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01015 (2).jpg
Views:	148
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	20567  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old July 14th, 2009, 10:41 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Why not use factory switches?
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 14th, 2009, 10:46 PM
cabell's Avatar
cabell
Status: Offline
Cabell Crowther
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
Posts: 476
I need an on off on switch for my electric fan as well as a couple other apps. Is there an on off on factory switch? BTW, this is a late td5 dash, so no factory switch opening here.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old July 14th, 2009, 10:46 PM
NashvilleRover's Avatar
NashvilleRover
Status: Offline
Dendy Jarrett
2009 LR3- Well Built
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee - USA
Posts: 819
Factory switches still available through Expedition Exchange.
And I am sure through AB or Rovers North.
Dendy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 14th, 2009, 10:48 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Yup, factory switch and it looks just like the dimmer switch on NAS trucks. ECR uses them on their builds, EE sells them as I am sure our friends at AB, BP etc. can. IIRC there is one somewhere in my stack of parts for when I get around to mounting the lights I got from CvC in 2004 or so.

Ron
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 15th, 2009, 12:20 AM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Offline
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,845
Registry
That panel is easy to remove to check the backspacing. I'm thinking you would have no issues with Carlings. I have that part from a 90 with the cuts outs for three switches if you want to take measurements etc. Its not fun cutting one of these out for switches and doing it well. I used a dremel tool, drill, files etc
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 15th, 2009, 10:11 AM
cabell's Avatar
cabell
Status: Offline
Cabell Crowther
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lynchburg, Virginia
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maryland 110
That panel is easy to remove to check the backspacing. I'm thinking you would have no issues with Carlings. I have that part from a 90 with the cuts outs for three switches if you want to take measurements etc. Its not fun cutting one of these out for switches and doing it well. I used a dremel tool, drill, files etc
Yes please let me try this out.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 15th, 2009, 10:31 AM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
I can't remember the exact name of those kind of switches, but lots of cars used them, i.e. minis and stuff. Here is a link to one intended to be a fan switch:

http://www.cbsonline.co.uk/sva-rocke...fan-3935-p.asp
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 15th, 2009, 10:40 AM
Haston
Status: Offline
Christopher Petite
97 D90 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 36
The three-switch gang would have fit on that panel in my 97SW, but I didn't like the prospect of having to cut the metal plate, as Doug alluded to. I ended up putting the three switches in the console, to the left of the trans shifter, where it was much easier to cut holes and just as easy to wire and tap for illuination. I bought the swtiches and the switch holders from Iron Goat, which has first-rate customer service. Best of luck. H.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 15th, 2009, 10:51 AM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabell
I need an on off on switch for my electric fan as well as a couple other apps. Is there an on off on factory switch? BTW, this is a late td5 dash, so no factory switch opening here.

May not be the cheap option, but you can remover that Td5 late part and install the wiper motor cover from a NAS 90 in that location and then that will give you the 3 factory switch type locations.
The Td5 piece has a lot of foam though before you get to metal, so unless you make a trim plate that the switches fit into you can't directly put switches into that panel as there is too much foam.

There are factory swithes for on off and 3 way, etc.

It would be cheaper to make a little alloy panel and paint it black and then attach it to that area.

In a Td5 there is nothing behind that (wiper motor is on the passenger side), so you have lots of room.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
switch

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hannibal tent fit on a stock 110 rack pcarey Misc. Chit-Chat 8 February 4th, 2012 08:49 PM
Carling Switches mgrgpg Defender Technical Discussions 5 September 12th, 2007 06:06 PM
Do Jeep seats fit the D-90? arbik Defender Technical Discussions 7 January 30th, 2005 08:25 PM
arb switches - where to put scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 8 January 10th, 2005 09:25 PM
Can I fit 35's? NC4X4 Defender Technical Discussions 2 July 20th, 2004 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Copyright