Why is the Electrical System Crap? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old October 20th, 2017, 07:30 PM
mjones1700
Michael Jones
1990 Defender 90

Why is the Electrical System Crap?

I have fully restored a Series III 109 (not too bad as Stealth Swimwear now uses it in their ads). So I have some experience, but I'm not a expert by any means. I am now restoring a 1990 Defender 90. Everything under the hood is new, brand new (runs great). I have finished my body work and paint and now am working on the interior (while being a daily driver). However, I am constantly being bugged by electrical problems. It seems like every time I hit a bump, some light goes out. I have cleaned (dremel wire brush) all the fuse and wire connectors, tightened all the wire connections, rewired the lights (only the last foot or so to the light) and etc. But my honest question is, why in the hell did Land Rover make a vehicle that I value like a Lamborghini, yet put the electrical components of a K Mart? The outside lights are rediculous (same as my Series). I got all new lights, but not LEDs (yet, but will when I have more money). The plastic is extremely brittle and the hole that you must push the lights through is so tight it is almost impossible to do it without breaking them. Same with the switches. I am tempted to pull every tiny wire and crimping (that looks like spaghetti in a tornado,), switch and fuse box and rewire the whole thing. Is there a reason for this crappy electrical, or am I just delusional?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 20th, 2017, 07:38 PM
rdavisinva
Robert Davis
N/A

If you haven't already replace the fuse boxes with the newer style mini-fuses.