Where is the accessory circuit? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old February 28th, 2010, 03:51 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Where is the accessory circuit?

I'm trying to install my stereo and I can't seem to find the accessory circuit in my ROW truck. Is this something I can tap into at the fuse box? Can I tie into it coming out of the back of the ignition? I am not that savvy with electrical stuff, but I have a vague knowledge of how to use the voltage meter. I can't seem to locate any wire that is only hot when the accessory is switched on. Thanks in advance for any help.

Jeff
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old February 28th, 2010, 04:43 PM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
You can hook on the ignition but the best thing is
to run a clean new line from battery +, put a fuse
on the line.
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 28th, 2010, 05:37 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
I just ran in to check for replies, and was just about to settle on that. I will run it right to the battery and just remember to turn the radio off every time.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old February 28th, 2010, 07:39 PM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
in the center of the dash, where the loom comes up to the dash

If you need I can take a picture
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 28th, 2010, 08:58 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Jeff, that sounds like a recipe for a dead battery

Worst case tap into the wiring that goes into the ignition switch (behind the instrument panel) and run that to the radio as well so you have both always-on and ignition-on.

But if Dave says there is already one there I believe it, since my ROW 110 has a radio mounted there and I haven't noticed any "custom" wiring for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 28th, 2010, 09:09 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,507
There are usually a couple blanks at the fuse panel--I would wire into that. You can also put a 12V relay off the ignition circuit to power your additional circuit so that it is fed only with the ignition. Personally, that is what I would do. I am going to put an over-rule switch on that so that I can by-pass the ignition and run that circuit when I want without a key, too. Like when playing the stereo for a party but don't want to leave a key.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 28th, 2010, 09:22 PM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
The unit normally has a wire that will act as a trigger, turning it
off and on according to key position, but that wire is not the main
power supply.
This function will prevent your radio from sucking your battery
reserve when engine is off.
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 28th, 2010, 09:29 PM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
My 90 was bone stock with no radio, the wires were hidden under the plastic tray.

a few pics
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01504 (Custom).jpg
Views:	149
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	25467   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01506 (Custom).jpg
Views:	145
Size:	110.6 KB
ID:	25468  

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 28th, 2010, 11:19 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Ok. I do have a bunch of wires under that plastic tray. I wasn't sure how to pry off those little tabs that hold it on, so I didn't go after that. I also tried to get behind the ignition too, but I got stopped by some other junk in the way. I do not appear to have any spots left in the fuse panel. So what I have done so far is fish wires from a hole I cut in the back of that plastic tray to the left and through the bulkhead to the positive battery cable.

I think that I would feel better pulling off the ignition/accessory bank if I could locate it. I might try this setup for a little while and see if i get in to trouble with it.

Thanks for the pics Dave. It shows me how easy this would be if I took that stupid tray out! Can I replace it easily?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_8061.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	110.2 KB
ID:	25469   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_8067.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	143.9 KB
ID:	25470  

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 1st, 2010, 01:34 AM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
You do not need to take the tray out, I only took it out since I was adding a bunch of new wires.

Looks down the area that is cut out, there should be some wires that you can pull up from the hole. Mine were packed in there tight, take your time and you should be ok

Green, brown, red, black and white as seen in the picture I posted
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:07 AM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
If you're going to run some wires from under seat box
to dash, run more than you need, you'll need them
some day.
I did it, 5 medium and 5 thin wires, different colors
inside shrinkable sleeving, and half of them are
used for something already.
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:22 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Yeah Julien is right. Run twice as many as you think you'd ever possibly need.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:29 AM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Ill yank those wire up through the hole I have and examine them further. They are definitely visible. That's a great idea to run a bunch while I'm in there. Thanks

So another thing I'm wanting to do here is put two 12v sockets in the MUD console. After some reading elsewhere, I think I will run 12 gauge wire with a 15 amp inline fuse for each outlet. Does this sound right?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 1st, 2010, 08:57 AM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpayne View Post
I'm trying to install my stereo and I can't seem to find the accessory circuit in my ROW truck.
accessory circuit is the brown and orange wire coming off the back of the ignition switch. on my both my 90 and my SIII it was connected to the heater. This wire and the terminal it comes from are hot when the ignition is on or when the key is turned to the accessory position which I THINK is in the opposite direction from the cranking direction if that makes sense. I don't remember because I never use that function, but I did discover it while futzing with the switch to wire in the glow plugs.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 1st, 2010, 09:38 AM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
On my 90 I have the following power supplied to the wires you are looking for.

Constant hot
Hot only when ignition is on
Hot for dash lights

There is also a ground but it is a small wire so I am planning to use something else.

Surprised no one has commented about taking electrical advice from a guy with the last name Lucas
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 1st, 2010, 12:16 PM
JFD's Avatar
JFD
Status: Offline
Julien Dalbin
05 Tdi 90
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dominican Republic
Posts: 1,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_lucas View Post
Surprised no one has commented about taking electrical advice from a guy with the last name Lucas
No one is even listening to you on this thread .
__________________
" Eventually everything connects - people, ideas, objects. The quality of the connections is the key to quality per se. "
- Charles Eames
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old March 1st, 2010, 12:48 PM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
Just like at home and work
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old March 1st, 2010, 07:25 PM
John_Karlsson
Status: Offline
John Karlsson
1966 Series IIA 88 SW
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Hope Valley, RI USA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave_lucas View Post
On my 90 I have the following power supplied to the wires you are looking for.


Surprised no one has commented about taking electrical advice from a guy with the last name Lucas
I've been too busy. It's tough being retired!
__________________
John Karlsson
Hope Valley, RI
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old July 20th, 2010, 11:01 PM
Gore Ranger's Avatar
Gore Ranger
Status: Offline
Jeff
1989 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 536
I have a question regarding powering a head unit on a 1989 RRC and I figured I would just post in an existing thread as opposed to starting a new one.

I had an aftermarket head unit installed when I first bought the truck, and they did not use an in line fuse. Shortly after it was installed, it fried the power wire and almost took out the head unit itself. I then just wired it to the battery with a 5 amp fuse by the battery as a quick fix. Actually, didn't drive the truck much and never got around to fixing that. Just got a new head unit from Roving Beetle (thanks btw) and want to wire it back up to work like factory with the ignition.

The original red power wire coming out of the factory harness has melted. I was thinking about just running power from the 20 amp sunroof circuit to the head unit and then putting in a fuse near the head unit. I have removed my roof for a non-sunroof roof and no longer need this wiring for the sunroof. I believe that the sunroof circuit is hot in the ignition on position. I am also confused about what size fuse to use near the head unit. The factory stereo used a 5 amp, but the aftermarket harnesses I have seen use a 15 amp. Do you put the fuse on the red wire or the yellow wire, or does this not matter?

I have the wiring diagrams and whatnot, but am confused and want to wire the stereo safely, unlike the botched install in the past. Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old July 21st, 2010, 08:34 AM
Gore Ranger's Avatar
Gore Ranger
Status: Offline
Jeff
1989 RRC
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 536
morning bump! anybody know if this is ok? Would like to do this today, Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ac

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SuperWinch Accessory Kit danielj For Sale - Parts 3 May 9th, 2005 10:36 AM
Spanish accessory shops in Spain? Davis Misc. Chit-Chat 0 April 25th, 2005 06:16 PM
So, if you could get any accessory you wanted.... Hans Misc. Chit-Chat 18 February 17th, 2005 09:47 AM
The right accessory - it can not be so hard paulb Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 8th, 2005 02:41 PM
Fun new problem: starter circuit issue jaherring Defender Technical Discussions 1 September 12th, 2004 03:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Copyright