Wet vs Dry Sanding - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old March 15th, 2012, 11:04 AM
MUDSUX
Forrest
Like my Tatas?

Registry
Wet vs Dry Sanding

Hey everyone,

Was just wondering if anyone have any advice about paint prep. I have done a lot of research preparing to repaint my 110. The consensus seems to be 400 grit or Scotch pad to roughen up the surface for the paint to stick. I picked up my PPG Concept paint from the local paint supply last week and they are telling me I should DRY sand with 400 grit using WHITE sandpaper, not to wet sand with the black sandpaper. WTF? Really? I have spent the last few months sanding my 110 and thought I was finally ready for paint. I know prep is everything when it comes to painting but isn't this a bit ridiculous? Wet vs dry, White vs black? It seems stupid but I am no professional so would like to ask for your experiences. Thanks in advance

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"It is the soldier, who salutes the flag, who serves beneath the flag, and whose coffin is draped by the flag that allows the protester to burn the flag"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 15th, 2012, 12:08 PM
grnrvrs
Paul

My paint guy said to dry sand with either 320(?) or red scuff pads. I opted for the scuff pads for the hand work and paper for the DA.
Old March 15th, 2012, 12:31 PM
o2batsea
Bill Adams
66 109 sw 94 lwb

Registry
My preference is to wet sand with 220, acetone wash, then tack off, then prime with 2 part epoxy primer, dry sand with 400, tack off, acetone wash, top coat

1966 109 5 door wagon 300Tdi "spermaceti fueled"
1994 RRC LeWiB "ruining the air behind me"
1968 2A 88

All my troubles are Rover
Sponsored Links
Advertisement