VDO Speedo Power and Ground - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old November 26th, 2011, 02:19 PM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
VDO Speedo Power and Ground

I have read all the VDO speedo posts and people always talk about the power and ground but never say where they actually ran the wires. I have everything pretty much wired up with the hall sensor but I need 12v switched power source. Can i splice into the back of the iginition switch? if so which wire of the 4 wires is the power? Also where is the best place to ground it? The instructions say where the ground for the battery is against the frame is best. Anyone know where that is?

Any suggestions from anyone who has installed one of these would be great.

Thanks,

B
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old November 26th, 2011, 04:48 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
There is a common correct wire for instrument gauges and ground. See the other instruments. You should just be moving the lead from the old instrument to the new.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 26th, 2011, 04:52 PM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
Ya thats true of all instruments except for the speedometer which is being changed from mechanical to electrical. So really this is just for anyone who has a 94 and has switched over to an electrical speedo.

Thanks for your response.

B
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old November 26th, 2011, 05:24 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
Make a wire from the power of another instrument to the speedo....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 26th, 2011, 05:28 PM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
Can I do that? Obviously, I am an electrical idiot. Won't it draw too much power or mess up the other instrument?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 26th, 2011, 05:38 PM
Hans's Avatar
Hans
Status: Offline
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,381
To be honest, the easiest way is to just daisy-chain it to the next gauge over for both power and ground. The factory speedo is mechanical, but all your other factory gauges are electrical, so they will all have power and ground on them. It won't overload anything, the gauges don't use very much power at all.

-Hans
__________________
My oil line fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My 100k stopped odometer fix

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brace for impact, I'm in a "modifying mood". Massive thread count inbound.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 26th, 2011, 05:40 PM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
Gracias fellas. If it requires bolting and unbolting I can do it. Electrical work always scares me.

B
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 26th, 2011, 07:03 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,250
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by wcampbel@nas.edu View Post
Won't it draw too much power or mess up the other instrument?
No, it will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 26th, 2011, 09:14 PM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,801
It is a super simple job. The switched power lead should be a green wire with a white stripe. Ground is the black wire. As mentioned above you can open up the gauge pack and find these wires on the other gauges. You will also have a lighting harness so do not connect to those wires. They make a wire crimp on connector that you can use to connect the new wire to one of the existing wires. That is the easiest way but a better way would be to cut and splice with crimp shrink rap connectors.
__________________
Land Rover 110
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
speedo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Gears and WOW, 10 mph? mdmccallum Defender Technical Discussions 26 December 1st, 2011 03:50 PM
Power Leather Seats For Defender Free bitz For Sale - Parts 4 September 24th, 2009 07:32 PM
Looking for a Good Ground Arnzo Defender Technical Discussions 3 November 27th, 2007 11:42 PM
ground up build advice needed. mountainviewrover Misc. Chit-Chat 16 November 8th, 2007 08:28 PM
Replacing ground wire questions vesparover Defender Technical Discussions 1 October 27th, 2003 04:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Copyright