VDO SPeedo - Page 3 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:36 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Don't know what numbers you are referring to... the diagram??

You are "nuking this" as we say in the Navy. There are two wires coming out of the speed sensor. You need to get those two wires by a means of your choice to pins 7 and 8 on the speedometer.

Here is the PDF of the install instructions for the speedo:
http://www.egauges.com/pdf/vdo/0-515-012-051.pdf

You want Page 2, Diagram 2. The "Inductive Sender" is the speed box.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #42  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:39 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I was referring to the numbers on the Parts diagram I just uploaded. Mine was converted from a V8 to a 300tdi so it no longer has an ECU. I get what you're saying. I already got a new TD5 transducer but it appears I can just reuse the old one.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:45 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manimal View Post
I was referring to the numbers on the Parts diagram I just uploaded. Mine was converted from a V8 to a 300tdi so it no longer has an ECU. I get what you're saying. I already got a new TD5 transducer but it appears I can just reuse the old one.
Gotcha... yeah you can use either, they actually just do the same thing. I pulled the entire cable out of mine (a Tdi) and replaced it with a speed sender that was used in the 97 NAS/ 50 LE / Discos. It just bolts up to the t-case and eliminates the cable. If you can do it, I would recommend that vice the speed box with more mechanical crap to break. Why invite in the ghost of Lucas Past if you don't have to...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #44  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:49 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Great advice. Is it this one you got?: YBE100540

Picture here: http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...0&d=1306105545

That was actually my original plan. To tear everything out and start over with YBE...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:56 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Yup, that's it. I got a pigtail to match the connector from Safari HP if memory serves. If you need that part number I can dig it up. It's actually a pigtail for a NAS rear brake light, and you only use the outside 2 pins, the middle is not connected.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old June 11th, 2011, 08:23 AM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECR
The Euro and diesel Defenders have the larger opening in the gear.
The NAS has the smaller.

Grab a speedo drive gear from anything factory EFI with an LT230, that will be the right one (smaller one).

FRC9339 if you want a new one (small).
Does anyone have the part # of the larger opening gear or have one that they do not want?

Randy
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old June 25th, 2011, 04:10 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
I just removed everything to install the YBE100540 transducer on the transfer case and I ran into a problem. There is a stud sticking out of the transfer case that the transducer is supposed to slide through and be bolted onto. Problem is it is not long enough. Is this stud removable or fixed? Is this stock? I was expecting a threaded hole where the stud is, as shown in the part catalogue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stud.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	39925  
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old June 25th, 2011, 04:17 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Remove stud.... Use a bolt... 6mm i think..
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old June 25th, 2011, 04:20 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks. I have the correct bolt already. I just wanted to confirm that the stud is in fact removable before I tear into it.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old June 25th, 2011, 04:44 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Get 2 nuts and screw them onto the stud. Tighten them onto each other. Then try to just unscrew the stud with the nuts u installed.. If they move on the tux, just tighten them tighter to each other...
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old June 25th, 2011, 04:47 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks! It came out.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old June 25th, 2011, 07:01 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Next Question. What pin (number) on the back of the VDO speedo do I attach the two wire coming out of the YBE100540 transducer? According to the VDO diagram there is supposed to be 3 wires for a Hall Effect Sensor. I only have two because the YBE... transducer only has two. Can I follow the instructions for the diagram for an inductive sender (two wires)?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old June 25th, 2011, 07:28 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
See my prior post above (#41).... pins 7 and 8. You have an inductive sender, not Hall Effect.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old June 25th, 2011, 07:31 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236


------ Follow up post added June 25th, 2011 08:00 PM ------

What dip switch settings did you use for your 300tdi?
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old June 26th, 2011, 09:22 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Where is the best place to pick up power to run the VDO speedo? It has been asked before but no response. It needs to be power that is on when the ignition is turned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wcampbel@nas.edu

So I am doing this same thing on my NAS 94. Where am I picking up power from? They say to go to a switched source on the ignition or something, but I was wondering if anyone had a suggestion for the best place where to draw the power from?
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old June 26th, 2011, 10:00 AM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manimal View Post
Where is the best place to pick up power to run the VDO speedo? It has been asked before but no response. It needs to be power that is on when the ignition is turned.
I am trying to remember where I got mine. I think I just used the same power that was going to the temp and fuel gauges. If you can wait until tonight I will be back home and look at the wiring diagram and get you the wire color. But it would be faster to just look at what's plugged into them and splice off from there.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old June 26th, 2011, 10:19 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Thanks for the offer but I need to have it buttoned up today. I do appreciate the help as this is my first time wiring anything.

Tach works (dip switch settings: off off off) and fuel gauge works. I replaced temp sender but I have only tested while idling and the needle didn't move. Hopefully it works. I am also concerned that the speedo will work properly with the new transducer set up. I guess I'll find out.

How much power does the speedo draw? Those wires on the gauges are seriously tiny. Wouldn't it be better to run separate wires to somewhere directly on the fuse box?

All gauge lights work but I got the wrong LED bulbs. I will post specs once I confirm the new ones.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old June 26th, 2011, 10:40 AM
kevkon's Avatar
kevkon
Status: Offline
kevin
1994 D90 300tdi #730, SIII 88
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chester,nj
Posts: 673
Another option for the tach is to use a crank trigger. I went this way when installing an ISSPRO tach;
http://www.egauges.com/vdo_indS.asp?...nsors&PN=R8906
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old June 26th, 2011, 12:35 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
So if I wanted to get power for the speedo from the fusebox, say 5th fuse from the right, top row, the one for dash gauges, turn signals, etc. How do I make the connection? Behind the fuse on the fuse panel there is a green wire on top and a thicker white wire on bottom. Which one to I wire into and how?
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old June 26th, 2011, 12:46 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Well the green wire (if I remember right) is the one to the dash. I run all of my gauges (EGT, Fuel, Temp, and Speedo) off of that one wire with no problem. If you are going to wire into the green there you might as well as wire into the green on the dash.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
speedo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
vdo water gauge install and 210 fan info Davis Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 24th, 2005 11:47 PM
VDO speedo for sale vlocci For Sale - Parts 3 May 2nd, 2004 12:38 PM
Speedo correction d90Monkey Defender Technical Discussions 2 April 21st, 2004 12:05 PM
VDO speedo for sale vlocci For Sale - Parts 2 January 9th, 2004 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Copyright