VDO SPeedo - Page 2 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old May 1st, 2011, 09:28 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,249
Registry
Flash memory.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #22  
Old May 1st, 2011, 09:31 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
I just started this exact same conversion today. Pulled out the cable, put in a sender Josh (crash303) had laying around from his 97. Didn't even think to compare the speedo cable size to the sender. I guess we will see what happens here in a few days when I have everything buttoned up.

I am also adding an EGT gauge and making most of the warning lights work for once, so lots of wiring going on.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 3rd, 2011, 08:11 AM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Offline
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,695
Registry
VDO Speedp finally in!

Had been putting this off for a while, put it in last night.

Its awesome having accurate speed and distance and no more jumping needle.

Very easy install, used the VDO hall effect 3 wire, the plug from the other thread, and the 120mph Speedo.

Super easy to set up, looks so much nicer.


I may have to get rid of the TD5 Speedo in favor of one of these as well!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0125 (1).jpg
Views:	206
Size:	61.7 KB
ID:	38263  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #24  
Old May 21st, 2011, 02:35 PM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomaco1 View Post
Had been putting this off for a while, put it in last night.

Its awesome having accurate speed and distance and no more jumping needle.

Very easy install, used the VDO hall effect 3 wire, the plug from the other thread, and the 120mph Speedo.

Super easy to set up, looks so much nicer.


I may have to get rid of the TD5 Speedo in favor of one of these as well!

So I am doing this same thing on my NAS 94. Where am I picking up power from? They say to go to a switched source on the ignition or something, but I was wondering if anyone had a suggestion for the best place where to draw the power from?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 21st, 2011, 03:18 PM
timtimtj's Avatar
timtimtj
Status: Offline
Tim Blanco
1994 Defender 90
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: East Northport, NY
Posts: 306
Sorry if I missed it but what is every doing with the speed sensor? My 94 d-90 has one so are you butting the sender after the speed sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 12:59 PM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Offline
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,695
Registry
I ran all 3 wires to to the dash. My green sender had 3 +,-, and the signal. I believe.
But mine is an 85 with no computer worries speedo wise.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 02:17 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
My stock one has three but they are different. One big one for speed sensor and two more, one for each bulb. So by installing the new YBE100540 sensor I can now get rid of the old speed sensor? The VDO will use a regular electrical cable for signal.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 06:07 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
My stock speedo has a thick speedo cable that goes from speedoto one end of a box attached to the chassis (see picture 1). There is a yellow cable exiting the rear of thus box and it goes into the transfer case (see picture 2). 3rd and 4th picture shows the YBE100540 sensor.

My question is: Do I rip all this old stuff out? Is that box on the chassis needed for the new set up? Here's what I think I'm supposed to do but I would love someones blessing on this before I do something I'll regret:

I think the yellow cable is removed and the new sensor is attached to the tranny using bolt that you can barely see behind the yellow cable that holds the cable into the tranny. That bold goes through that hole in the sensor and the pin on the sensor goes into the tranny. Is this correct?

Then I need a male connector to plug into the sensor and run an electrical wire back to the new VDO speedo bypassing the old box that is attached to the chassis. Can I remove that box completely? Can someone tell me the part# of that male connector? Nothing in the manual or ebay.uk.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0987.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	38984   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0989.jpg
Views:	170
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	38985  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0991.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	38986   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0992.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	38987  

Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 09:21 PM
rover4x4's Avatar
rover4x4
Status: Offline
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: The Old North State
Posts: 7,527
Registry
How would one make this work with the later DII style t-case
__________________
Poor gas mileage gets you to the best places on earth
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 09:54 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,249
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manimal View Post
My stock speedo has a thick speedo cable that goes from speedoto one end of a box attached to the chassis (see picture 1). There is a yellow cable exiting the rear of thus box and it goes into the transfer case (see picture 2). 3rd and 4th picture shows the YBE100540 sensor.

My question is: Do I rip all this old stuff out? Is that box on the chassis needed for the new set up? Here's what I think I'm supposed to do but I would love someones blessing on this before I do something I'll regret:

I think the yellow cable is removed and the new sensor is attached to the tranny using bolt that you can barely see behind the yellow cable that holds the cable into the tranny. That bold goes through that hole in the sensor and the pin on the sensor goes into the tranny. Is this correct?

Then I need a male connector to plug into the sensor and run an electrical wire back to the new VDO speedo bypassing the old box that is attached to the chassis. Can I remove that box completely? Can someone tell me the part# of that male connector? Nothing in the manual or ebay.uk.
The box is for the V8 EFI ECU speed signal. If you have installed a 300TDI, you do not need it. So yes, take everything out, put the YBE100540 (or YBE100530) sender directly into the transfer case and run wires to teh VDO speedo. As per the other thread, the wiring plug is STC4637 (plug for stop lights) for either speed sender.

------ Follow up post added May 22nd, 2011 07:56 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rover4x4 View Post
How would one make this work with the later DII style t-case
If you have a case without the speedo gear output, then you need to change the rear output housing.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 10:21 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
That's what I thought. Thanks! You're right. It was originally a V8 but was later converted into 300tdi. It appears that they were able to reuse that V8 ECU speed signal "box" with the R380 as that is how I currently get my speedo reading.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 11:12 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,249
Registry
You should be able to actually just send the "box" signal to the VDO speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old May 22nd, 2011, 11:21 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Really? The VDO doesn't have a connector for that fat speedo cable.
__________________
Land Rovers. A loosely associated collection of parts, generally traveling in the same direction.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old May 23rd, 2011, 12:29 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,249
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manimal View Post
Really? The VDO doesn't have a connector for that fat speedo cable.
I do not understand the question?

You have two choices...

1) Leave everything as is and run wires from the existing VSS box to the VDO speedo.

2) Remove the speed cable from the transfer case and install YBE100540 or YBE100530 and run wires from it to the VDO speedo.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old May 23rd, 2011, 12:57 AM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
Is there a place to attach the wires on the old VSS box? There's only a fat speedo cable coming out of each end. I already bought the YBE transducer so if I can't find a place to attach wires on the VSS box I will go with option 2).
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old May 23rd, 2011, 01:11 AM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Online
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,249
Registry
Yes, there should be wires and a connector. The box was the vehicle speed sensor for the V8 computer.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old May 23rd, 2011, 10:43 AM
wcampbel@nas.edu's Avatar
wcampbel@nas.edu
Status: Offline
Bill Campbell
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 727
So I am using Hans' suggestions http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...3&postcount=83.

I am all done except the final step.

"Install, wire and calibrate the new speedo as per the instructions that came with it."

My sender has three wires, white, red and black. The instructions state the white wire splits and goes to pin 6 and 8. The red wire says to go to a 12/24v switched power source. I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on which is the best power source to wire to? Like specifically which wire to tap into. Also the black wire goes to pin 3 i think and then to a ground. What is the best way to ground this wire?

Thanks,

B
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old May 27th, 2011, 06:51 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
That makes sense. So I would use the wiring meant for the CPU? See attached image.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Red90 View Post
Yes, there should be wires and a connector. The box was the vehicle speed sensor for the V8 computer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2011-05-27 at 3.45.18 PM.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	34.2 KB
ID:	39142  
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:27 PM
navydevildoc's Avatar
navydevildoc
Status: Offline
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,586
Registry
Yup. Those two wires coming out of the speed box go to the back of the VDO speedo. Follow the directions for the "induction sensor", the only one with 2 wires.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old May 27th, 2011, 07:30 PM
Manimal's Avatar
Manimal
Status: Offline
Carl Jonsson
1995 NAS D90 #219
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,236
So I just unplug #1 and run #7 to the speedo?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
speedo

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
vdo water gauge install and 210 fan info Davis Defender Technical Discussions 5 February 24th, 2005 11:47 PM
VDO speedo for sale vlocci For Sale - Parts 3 May 2nd, 2004 12:38 PM
Speedo correction d90Monkey Defender Technical Discussions 2 April 21st, 2004 12:05 PM
VDO speedo for sale vlocci For Sale - Parts 2 January 9th, 2004 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Copyright