VDO gauges - help - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 13th, 2012, 03:08 PM
Mrenkil
Mike
'86 D90 w/ 300tdi

VDO gauges - help

I could use some help getting the right gauges. I'm new to LR/Defender and have a 300TDI in an '86 wagon, just to add some fun to the hunt for the right items. I bought new gauges and out of 4, only the tach was the right one. The guel guage sender didn't match what is on the tank, but after looking at the fill tube and cap, I think the tank my be off of a Series. Here are two pictures I have taken. Any help on the right guages to get would be appreciated.

Need:
Speedometer
Water temp sender
Fuel guage / Sender
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	b7399708.jpg
Views:	59
Size:	115.4 KB
ID:	51502   Click image for larger version

Name:	67d7ceb7.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	116.7 KB
ID:	51503  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 13th, 2012, 03:56 PM
leastonce
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team

Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrenkil
I could use some help getting the right gauges. I'm new to LR/Defender and have a 300TDI in an '86 wagon, just to add some fun to the hunt for the right items. I bought new gauges and out of 4, only the tach was the right one. The guel guage sender didn't match what is on the tank, but after looking at the fill tube and cap, I think the tank my be off of a Series. Here are two pictures I have taken. Any help on the right guages to get would be appreciated.

Need:
Speedometer
Water temp sender
Fuel guage / Sender
Measure the resistance of your fuel sender empty and full and you will know what's the matching gauge. For the temp gauge ... Buy a new matching sensor. For the speedo you probably need a VSS ( vehicle speed sensor ) to replace the cable setup.
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Old May 13th, 2012, 08:41 PM
Manimal
Carl Jonsson