Using a multi meter to check Battery draw - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old December 19th, 2007, 05:15 PM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
Using a multi meter to check Battery draw

How is this done? My truck has a dead battery in about 3 days if I don't use it.. I want to check and see if there is some type of draw. How is this done with a meter? I have one but don't know how to use it..
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old December 19th, 2007, 05:47 PM
devinchi's Avatar
devinchi
Status: Offline
Tim Brown
'95 D90 ST '99D2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perkinsville VT
Posts: 231
Set the meter for amps, and go through the fuse box. pull out one, put the 2 leads in the 2 prong receptacles for the fuse. The one that shows current is the one that draws down your battery.
__________________
I got your JEEP thing, now it hurts when I pee!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 19th, 2007, 07:42 PM
Bowtracer's Avatar
Bowtracer
Status: Offline
Peter Sherman
NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Old Mill Creek IL
Posts: 690
undo the neg side complete the curcuit with the meter then pul the fuses
this way you don't have the pos of a short & have to get little things in tight spots
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old December 20th, 2007, 09:57 AM
TDI Guy's Avatar
TDI Guy
Status: Offline
Randy
2015 LR4
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 4,573
Registry
OK.. Peter, when I do that, should I still have it in the amps mode?
__________________
Legend in My Own Mind.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 20th, 2007, 10:12 AM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
I'm not Peter, but yes.




Quote:
Originally Posted by TDI Guy
OK.. Peter, when I do that, should I still have it in the amps mode?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 20th, 2007, 10:51 AM
Bowtracer's Avatar
Bowtracer
Status: Offline
Peter Sherman
NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Old Mill Creek IL
Posts: 690
just make sure you have a fuse in your meter. I am sure you do but?!
report back
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 20th, 2007, 11:18 AM
newfD90's Avatar
newfD90
Status: Offline
Chance
93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Monument, Colorado
Posts: 1,359
Also, don't forget to move the red test lead from the Voltage input to the Amperage input on your meter.
__________________
Chance

"Fossil Fuel Rapid Disposal Unit"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
battery

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WNWPP D90 Dual Battery Tray! DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 15 July 29th, 2009 12:00 AM
Battery Compartment under seat Flagg Defender Technical Discussions 11 May 15th, 2007 11:38 AM
D-90 Door check or check rod question dfscott Defender Technical Discussions 6 November 29th, 2005 11:51 AM
air meter voltage adjustment? Rod Hayward Defender Technical Discussions 4 July 24th, 2005 11:24 PM
Dead Battery! And Random Stuff Mike Hippert Misc. Chit-Chat 24 May 31st, 2004 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Copyright