Truetrac setup in my 110 front axle - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 2nd, 2012, 01:46 PM
aclarke
Andrew Clarke
1986 110 CSW 200tdi

Truetrac setup in my 110 front axle

Hi. I have almost 90 degrees of play in my front prop shaft when I rotate it. I figured I should do something about that. I have a Detroit locker in the back, and figured a Truetrac in the front would complement it nicely.

I'm not a mechanic, so I'm not sure how much of this I should attempt to do myself, and how much I should be getting someone else to do. There's a guy near here who has set up a lot of Jaguar diffs, and open Land Rover diffs, but on the other hand he didn't even know what a Truetrac was so I'm not sure whether I should be trusting him with this job.

If I have this much play in my front diff, can someone help me know what I should definitely be ordering and replacing, and what else I should check while I'm at it?

Also, I'm in southwestern Ontario, Canada. I know Great Basin Rovers in the US does this sort of stuff, but I'd prefer not to ship my third member to the US or buy parts from the US if I can find someone reasonably local that can do the work just as well. I have nothing against Americans, but cross-border shipping and shopping is an expense and pain I'd like to avoid if possible.

I'm just confused by what needs to be set up by someone who knows what they're doing, what can be set up remotely and installed locally, etc. etc.

Thanks a lot,
- Andrew.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 2nd, 2012, 02:00 PM
Uncle Douglas
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor

Registry
Maybe its just me but I doubt you have 90 degrees all @ the diff. How are the front drive flanges and cv's ? Might want to look @ those before throwing money just @ the diff.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service