Transfer case question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old December 31st, 2009, 09:23 PM
Wiley
David Brewer
1995 D90

Transfer case question

I have this vibration around 50mph. Mostly feel it in the steering wheel so I took off the front driveline and tried to take it for a spin. Truck won't go anywhere until I put it in diff lock. So in diff lock mode I still get the vibration and actually seems more pronounced.

I'm new to Defenders but I thought they were full time 4-wheel which I take it means I have a transfer case problem? What would cause it to loose the rear drive when its not in 'diff lock'? Occurred in both hi and low-no rear drive.

Oh, and any ideas on most possible source of vibration also? Thanks.

If it matters mine is '95 D90sw.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 31st, 2009, 09:37 PM
huck1974
shane cates
94 d90

went through months of issues before I got a clue. Do you have a lift? If so, check the pinion angle. Rear driveshaft could be the problem. Is the stupid retaining screw still in the brake drum? Sometimes that wont allow the drum to turn squarely. Bolts tight on driveshaft? U-joints good? Is there a leak by that big drum?

More info on your truck needed.

Also, truck has to turn wheels at different speed to keep from blowing up the transfer case. They only turn at the same speed when it is locked. That is why you can only run it locked on a surface that can give, like gravel or off road.

Is it at all possible that you have a tire balance problem, or are you positive that it is driveline?
And I love you too
Old December 31st, 2009, 09:50 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

This could be several things... Could be that your tires are unbalanced, a wheel is bent or a tire is out of round. Also, check to make sure that the transfercase is full and check to make sure that your front control arms nuts are tight.