Transfer case dilemna- No numbers! - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 28th, 2012, 10:39 AM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
Transfer case dilemna- No numbers!

I've got a feeling that my Td5 has had an older 1.6 box swapped in for the 1.4

1) Doesn't have the hi/lo switch for the computer to change gas pedal throw (connector just hanging)
2) A ground wire for the difflock switch still on box (Td5 feeds the switch hot)
3) I'm in 5th before 30 MPH!!!!

There is not a number on the box anywhere where it should be, nor any indication that a number has been removed.

Is there any way to tell what the ratio is, or a serial # anywhere else than the normal places? Or will I have to remove covers and start counting teeth?
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 28th, 2012, 11:06 AM
grnrvrs's Avatar
grnrvrs
Status: Offline
Paul
88
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: west
Posts: 1,393
5th gear, 30mph, at what rpm? Are you sure you're not in low range?
__________________
1970 SIIA 88, Sold
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 28th, 2012, 12:07 PM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
If I had a tach I could use the calculator on Ashcroft's website to see what I had......

Going to try my scanner tonight, plug it into the OBDII port (it's not OBDII but the plug is the same) and see if I can get a rev count
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 28th, 2012, 01:15 PM
Ren Ching's Avatar
Ren Ching
Status: Offline
Skinny Pete
'84 90 "Yamelo"/'88 RRC "Chewbacca"
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown
Posts: 4,696
Registry
on the early boxes the numbers are on the side not on the back. helps to have a mirror to read them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by winn442 View Post
I've got a feeling that my Td5 has had an older 1.6 box swapped in for the 1.4

1) Doesn't have the hi/lo switch for the computer to change gas pedal throw (connector just hanging)
2) A ground wire for the difflock switch still on box (Td5 feeds the switch hot)
3) I'm in 5th before 30 MPH!!!!

There is not a number on the box anywhere where it should be, nor any indication that a number has been removed.

Is there any way to tell what the ratio is, or a serial # anywhere else than the normal places? Or will I have to remove covers and start counting teeth?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 28th, 2012, 08:03 PM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,801
5th and only going 30 mph, your in low or something is wrong?
__________________
Land Rover 110
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 29th, 2012, 08:06 AM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
Guys, I'm not in low....maybe 30 is exaggerating....casually going through the gears it's more like 35....this thing has so much low end now that it's got a Dastek chip, boost box, huge intercooler, egr removal, and straight exhaust...I could change it at a higher speed easily, I just don't rev it up through the gears unless I need to.....60 seems to be the "sweet" spot, at 70 it feels over-reved....and I'm running 35's.....can take off in first without any pedal at all, and can take off in second if I'm not on a hill.....

I've looked EVERYWHERE for a number where it should be, old and new....going to take the skidplate off this weekend and look some more....got a feeling I've got a 1.6 box though.....
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 29th, 2012, 08:52 AM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
May want to check the diffs as well, maybe someone put 4.10 or 4.75 gears in there?

Pretty easy to check
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 29th, 2012, 11:10 AM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
Just had them out when I put in ARB's....didn't cross my mind to count teeth....been in enough of them that it seems I would have noticed if they weren't 3.54's....
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 29th, 2012, 12:03 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Let us know what you figure out. Seems like pictures could make this post a sticky for other owners like you that come into a similar problem.
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 29th, 2012, 03:43 PM
dave_lucas's Avatar
dave_lucas
Status: Offline
Dave Lucas
None
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CO USA
Posts: 3,126
Fwiw winn442 you do not need to take anything apart to check the gear ratio in the diff you can use the old spin the tire and count how many times the drive shaft rotates. Free and easy to check.

http://www.jedi.com/obiwan/jeep/misc/gearratio.html
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 29th, 2012, 04:28 PM
mgreenspan's Avatar
mgreenspan
Status: Offline
Matthew Greenspan
Land Rovers
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Nevada City
Posts: 1,719
Registry
Even with a 1.6 box you could not do fifth before 30mph without a lot of stumbling. Just b/c it says Hi with the lever back doesn't mean that it's high range...

http://www.ashcroft-transmissions.co...d&productId=45

Videos of where to find the serial number and list of corresponding numbers to ratios at the bottom.
__________________
Do not read the next sentence.

You little rebel, I like you.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 29th, 2012, 06:50 PM
Oxcart13's Avatar
Oxcart13
Status: Offline
Mark M
D110
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 393
Winn - your description sounds very familiar. With 33s and the stock 1.4 T-case, 55 was my 'sweet spot' and definately thought it was over-reving on the highway at 70. And I'd idle up my driveway in 1st. Switched to a 1.2 - much better. Regardless if you have a 1.4 or 1.6, I'd start looking for a 1.2 T-case. Mark
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 29th, 2012, 07:48 PM
Rocky's Avatar
Rocky
Status: Offline
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colonies Aka Boston
Posts: 8,781
Use to drive two Discos one auto the other 5speed. The 5speed had been fitted in the factory with 1.4 and boy was it fun.
__________________
A friend of mine runs a land rover / range rover specialty repair shop. Based on his experience, they are capable of stopping anywhere, anytime, at any cost.

I don't know about the brakes, only their unreliability.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 29th, 2012, 07:54 PM
Raz's Avatar
Raz
Status: Offline
Leif
1994 90 ST #1589
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Western WA
Posts: 230
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxcart13 View Post
Winn - your description sounds very familiar. With 33s and the stock 1.4 T-case, 55 was my 'sweet spot' and definately thought it was over-reving on the highway at 70. And I'd idle up my driveway in 1st. Switched to a 1.2 - much better. Regardless if you have a 1.4 or 1.6, I'd start looking for a 1.2 T-case. Mark
I have no experience with a Td5, but fwiw, just read this http://www.defendersource.com/forum/...8&postcount=14 after reading the above.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old March 29th, 2012, 08:12 PM
woldd90's Avatar
woldd90
Status: Offline
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 5,329
Winn, I have a spare 1.2 you could borrow... Low miles too.
__________________
Scott

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old March 30th, 2012, 03:01 PM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
Scott, might take you up on that, Dempsey has a 1.2 case out of an old RRC that we were gong to swap, doesn't matter to him what case he has, it'll be in that Peguoet power buggy he's building...it'll never see high range....is your box a Q box?
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old May 7th, 2012, 08:10 AM
winn442's Avatar
winn442
Status: Offline
Winn Bearden
........
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Americus, GA
Posts: 255
Registry
Swapped out the old leaky 1.6 case yesterday for a 1.2. What a difference! Have to learn how to drive it again, before I could take off from a stop without having to give it any pedal, now I have to give it a little. On the interstate this morning on the way to work, 70MPH was SWEET!!!! The Q box is a lot quieter too.
__________________
Winn Bearden
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
transfer case

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
transfer case questions HELP! mattwhite Defender Technical Discussions 2 March 8th, 2009 02:45 PM
Transfer case output nut size? Trigger Defender Technical Discussions 5 April 12th, 2005 03:32 PM
94 transfer case problems Campbell Defender Technical Discussions 25 March 19th, 2005 12:09 PM
transfer case redrover Defender Technical Discussions 9 January 27th, 2004 02:41 PM
looking for a Transfer Case for '94 D90 rover_rich_d90 Wanted 5 November 12th, 2003 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Copyright