TPS and Rovergauge - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 11th, 2013, 05:30 PM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
TPS and Rovergauge

I'm assuming my TPS is bad? Do they fail wide open? It seems to run OK, a little rich maybe, but pulls well and idles fine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rovergauge.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	93.4 KB
ID:	69957  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 11th, 2013, 06:44 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAX711 View Post
I'm assuming my TPS is bad? Do they fail wide open? It seems to run OK, a little rich maybe, but pulls well and idles fine.
What does it do when you move the throttle? Does it change?
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 11th, 2013, 06:48 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
Seems bad. Replace.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old April 11th, 2013, 07:28 PM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post

What does it do when you move the throttle? Does it change?
No, just stays on 99% regardless of throttle position.

Weird thing is the ECU isn't throwing any codes

------ Follow up post added April 11th, 2013 07:30 PM ------

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfij View Post
Seems bad. Replace.
Do I have to go genuine or is there a GM equivalent?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 11th, 2013, 07:31 PM
evilfij's Avatar
evilfij
Status: Offline
evilfij
I have never seen a rover in person
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: on the internet
Posts: 14,688
I never found a non LR replacement. Charles saved me with a used one as no new ones were available when I looked for one.
__________________
*not legal advice*
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 11th, 2013, 07:48 PM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by evilfij View Post
I never found a non LR replacement. Charles saved me with a used one as no new ones were available when I looked for one.
This came up on Amazon $209... ouch!

http://tinyurl.com/bs6unmn
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 11th, 2013, 08:01 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Double check by measuring the resistance across the pins. There is an electrical diagnostic manual kicking around that gives the resistance range.

I'd also check that it's actually connected properly.
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 12th, 2013, 03:25 PM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
I took the TPS off and ohm'd it, definitely bad, strange that it didn't throw an ECU code though. Found a used one on eBay. This explains why the plugs had been looking a little sooty, the ECU was probably adding more fuel because it thought the throttle was wide open.

Thanks to all for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 12th, 2013, 03:42 PM
rijosho's Avatar
rijosho
Status: Offline
Joshua
1995 Black ST - Rhinolined edition
Research Assistant/Eagle Eyes
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 16,557
Registry
Jason, didn't mine do this when we hooked yours up to my truck last year? I thought it did the same with yours too, no?
__________________
Quote:
I am talking purely from an aesthetics standpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 03:28 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,507
When using Rovergauge, my TPS goes from (corrected) 0%-74% and 6%-74% when corrected. Does that seem correct that it only goes up to 74%? I have two TPS's and they both do this...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 04:42 PM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
When my TPS was broken, it was pegged at 98% all the time. The new one goes from 0% to 96%, absolute or corrected doesn't seem to matter. Try take yours off and rotate it by hand see what range you get
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
rovergauge

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Copyright