Title opinions needed - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old July 29th, 2009, 09:09 AM
mightymg
Lane Farka
97 D90, 05 LR3, 95 RRC LWB

Title opinions needed

OK so I just bought my first defender, IM not new to the land rover world, but i am new to the D.

I bought this vehicle from a buddy of mine who ENDOed it off a wash a few years ago. He trashed the rear tub, trashed the cage, trashed the fenders. Right now im in the process of removing the rear tub to put on my UK 83 trident green tub. I have the replacement fenders, hood, and good doors that im goign to paint trident green as well. I have most of the cage parts. so it should be back to pretty much normal when im done here in a few weeks..

Currently it has a branded title

SO my question is this, im gonna put a 300 TDI in her, and in utah in a 97 that doesnt fly so well. According to their website I can do a reconstructed vehicle and I can retitle the vehicle to the year of the parts i used to reconstruct it. so once i get the tub on, and the fenders on and painted all trident green like the tub, and leave the cage off for the final pictures for the dmv, it will look older. I have a sale purchase paper saying the tub and fenders (wink) are all off a 83, i should be a ble to make it fly _ MAYBE_

From the utah dmv site*

Reconstructed Vehicles

A "reconstructed vehicle" is a vehicle that is required to be registered in Utah, and has been materially altered from its original construction by the removal, addition or substitution of essential parts, new or used.

The make and year of the vehicle are determined by what the vehicle looks like after reconstruction.

Example: A 1998 Ford pickup body is mounted onto a 1997 Ford pickup frame the vehicle will be a 1998 Ford. The model is reconstructed.

To title and register a reconstructed vehicle the owner must: