The De-TD5ing of a 110? - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:03 PM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Online
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,693
Registry
The De-TD5ing of a 110?

I know this sounds like a sin, but I need to get rid of all the wires and computers, I only have the 200tdi going in it.
The body is an early (1999) TD5 and I need to know which harness would work best, a 200tdi or 300tdi harness.

I'd like to use the gauges if possible, I included a pic of the gauges.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0034.jpg
Views:	235
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	36316   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0035.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	90.9 KB
ID:	36317  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0036.jpg
Views:	164
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	36318  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:11 PM
alastair's Avatar
alastair
Status: Offline
AJS
84/94/95/2013
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 385
I've got no help to offer; I just wonder how many "how much do you want for the _ _ _ _ _ " posts appear before someone actually answers your questions...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:15 PM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Online
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,693
Registry
I may try and trade it for what I need.

Another ?
whats the difference between a LHD and RHD harness?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:20 PM
alastair's Avatar
alastair
Status: Offline
AJS
84/94/95/2013
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomaco1 View Post
I may try and trade it for what I need.

Another ?
whats the difference between a LHD and RHD harness?
You mean the main harness? I don't imagine there is a difference at all; though I don't know for sure. When we re-wired my 200tdi we did it from scratch: It really is a very basic set-up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:31 PM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Online
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,693
Registry
Yeah, the main harness, the engine is pretty simple.
As far as LHD and RHD harness, I didn't think there would be a difference either, but I saw a LHD TD5 harness for sale on Ebay UK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 1st, 2011, 07:45 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Offline
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,835
Registry
stephen can sell you a 300 tdi engine harness that will plug into the main harness and use the td5 gauges. The 300 harness will work on your 200 with the exception of the coolant sender which should be easily overcome. I have one but you cant have it.
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 1st, 2011, 08:51 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
I would just use what you got and hunt n peck the needed wiring. You can even remove the excess.

http://www.reedx.net/landrover/mods/2002dash/index.htm

Will get you the information you need.
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 1st, 2011, 09:48 PM
alastair's Avatar
alastair
Status: Offline
AJS
84/94/95/2013
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy View Post
I would just use what you got and hunt n peck the needed wiring. You can even remove the excess.

http://www.reedx.net/landrover/mods/2002dash/index.htm

Will get you the information you need.
I agree. If an idiot like me was able to re-wire my 200tdi 90 (albeit with some skilled help) it really is straightforward.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 09:56 AM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Online
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,693
Registry
I guess if I just can all the excess, it would be simple enough.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:01 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
I would seriously consider sourcing a TD5 if you have everything else!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:01 AM
diesel_jim's Avatar
diesel_jim
Status: Offline
Jamie Austin
1992 110 Td5 CSW & 1989 MB G-Wagen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,449
Older Tdi harness's arn't much different between LHD and RHD. i've heard that you can just "flip over" the loom and everything reaches and fits.


RoW (Rest of world) defenders had that Td5 electronic dash pod but connected up via the "older" Tdi spec loom (but beware... it'll have Td5 type plugs & sockets)

I've got the Td5 dash-to-Tdi-type-main-harness loom part number at home, will post it up later.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old March 2nd, 2011, 09:25 PM
tomaco1's Avatar
tomaco1
Status: Online
T.mac
83 110
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 3,693
Registry
Jim, of you want the TD5 stuff let me know, I really don't feel like dealing with all the extra wires. I got it all out tonight, The computer and fuse box under the seat, and everything else. I think a 300tdi or even a 200tdi would be much simpler.

As far as keeping the TD5 harness, what do you do with all the ECU wires?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old March 3rd, 2011, 05:31 AM
diesel_jim's Avatar
diesel_jim
Status: Offline
Jamie Austin
1992 110 Td5 CSW & 1989 MB G-Wagen
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomaco1 View Post
Jim, of you want the TD5 stuff let me know, I really don't feel like dealing with all the extra wires. I got it all out tonight, The computer and fuse box under the seat, and everything else. I think a 300tdi or even a 200tdi would be much simpler.

As far as keeping the TD5 harness, what do you do with all the ECU wires?

PM sent!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old March 3rd, 2011, 06:43 AM
Capt Milks's Avatar
Capt Milks
Status: Offline
Mike
Defender V-8, Defender 2.25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,798
The LHD and RHD harness are different but have known people that have successfully swapped them with a bit of making your own connections here and there. You can use the electronic dash but will have to make changes to the water temp sending unit and get the newer version, green colored. There is a great write up on www.landroverexpediton.com. or www.retroanaconda.com. If you want to get a harness that has the changes made to it you can use Part number YMG109260, However it is a bit expensive. You will also need to get a spedo transducer, YEB100530, if you want to use the Td5 spedo. I know it will work on the R380. You should have the wires needed unless they cut them when they removed the engine etc. (If your truck didn't come with the trans) You could also get an engine harness that should hook up to the Td5 loom, YSB001281. The main wiring harness I used was, ymc000470, from my understanding this was the last harness used for the 300 Tdi's in the Td5 configuration.
I do not know if the engine security system will effect anything. It all goes through the ECU so probably not. You should have a module under the dash pod with two connectors, one Gray and one Green. I would disconnect them and see what happens once you have everything else figured out.
I tried to get all my harnesses to be plug and play but have found there are so many variations that it is a hard thing to do. My Chassis harness did not have the connector for the rear lighting. The wires were present but not hooked up. I will have to make a connector for that. So I think you will have to make some connectors on some things no matter what you end up doing.
__________________
Land Rover 110
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
110, td5

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
90 & 110 Parts Sale Extravaganza Wolf Fabrication For Sale - Parts 57 October 16th, 2012 09:35 AM
1983 110 import report - Long grnrvrs Defender Technical Discussions 28 October 22nd, 2010 11:52 AM
Best way across the US Mike Hippert Defender Technical Discussions 173 April 29th, 2010 04:56 PM
Build a 110? Chaucer Misc. Chit-Chat 36 March 19th, 2008 08:27 PM
D90 withdrawl :( 110 build :) evilfij Defender Technical Discussions 6 October 23rd, 2004 01:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Copyright