Temp sender? is whacky - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 23rd, 2012, 11:27 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Temp sender? is whacky

First thing in the morning I turn the key to the first position and the temp gauge goes up to the bottom of the red mark. Then I start the truck and as I'm driving down the road the gauge eventually creeps up to full panic mode. The cooling system has been working fine so I'm not all that concerned about the engine's health, ie bottom hose is nice and warn to the touch and not hot. This just happened over night so I'm thinking it's the sender.

The last time I ignored a bad sender I actually was having coolant issues and ended up in a bad place so I am a bit weary. Needless to say, the sender and radiator have been replaced and the head has been rebuilt a little over a year ago.

Is this an issue that others have had pop up overnight? Hopefully it's just a new temp sender.


Thanks,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 24th, 2012, 12:25 AM
cdb
Status: Offline
Clark Bowen
1969 Series 2a/OM617 Bugeye 88"
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 775
Temp sensors are about $9 from www.britishpacifc.com or $32 from LR. Easy to replace too.
__________________
2011 RR HSE -
1970 LR Series 2A Bugeye BenzOver
2001 GMC 2500 4wd
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 24th, 2012, 01:18 AM
michael67's Avatar
michael67
Status: Online
Michael White
110 Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 342
I was having the same issue. Make sure you don't have a ground problem:

- Check the condition of the ground wire from the battery, including where it attaches to the body/frame
- See if connecting a parallel wire from the battery directly to the engine to ensure a good reference ground helps
- Make sure your gauge has a good ground by connecting a parallel ground to the battery

I'm assuming you're running the stock gauge with stock connectors.
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the
black flag and start slitting throats." - H. L. Mencken
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 24th, 2012, 04:42 AM
Rocky's Avatar
Rocky
Status: Offline
Chris
72 + D1 drivetrain
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colonies Aka Boston
Posts: 8,762
Out of interest what does it read if you remove the wire from the sensor and ground it on the block?
__________________
A friend of mine runs a land rover / range rover specialty repair shop. Based on his experience, they are capable of stopping anywhere, anytime, at any cost.

I don't know about the brakes, only their unreliability.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 24th, 2012, 11:36 AM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky
Out of interest what does it read if you remove the wire from the sensor and ground it on the block?
When I do this the gauge goes all the way to the top.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 24th, 2012, 12:37 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
buy a VDO guage and sender

eguages.com
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 24th, 2012, 12:53 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
I probably should do that. The "red" is actually pretty much white at this point.

Does anybody know the part number for the sender? I bought one from LR Series last time but it was the wrong one. This is for a 2.25 five bearing diesel.

Thanks

Edit: just looked at egauge site and see that they have the senders with the gauges and adapters. Will investigate that option further.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 24th, 2012, 01:45 PM
Red90's Avatar
Red90
Status: Offline
John B.
1991 Defender 90, 200TDI
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 9,226
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post
buy a VDO guage and sender

eguages.com
Do it!! Cheaper than a stock gauge and sender, they actually work, they look much better and can be read at night...
__________________
Pissing people off on the "net" since 1983.

Land Rover. Turning owners into mechanics since 1948.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 24th, 2012, 07:11 PM
Mpigapicha's Avatar
Mpigapicha
Status: Offline
phil
1995 Defender D90
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 326
I'm having similar issue with mine. Figured sensor, was sent wrong one from RN, sent me another claiming to be the right one and was still wacky..... Basically gauge goes to mid within a minute then quickly redlines..... obviously engine not heating up that quick but its a bit unnerving.... So as Jason recommended & scored..... swapped vdo..... have not chance to really test yet... hopefully tomorrow.....

Still curious whether I was sent wrong sensor again, bad ground though I doubt it, have redone most or gauge is bad.... mystery.....
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 27th, 2012, 07:53 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Got my VDO today. Gonna try to get it in tomorrow. I am certainly no electrical wiz but what in the hell is a person supposed to do to connect a wire to the sender? The top of that thing looks like nothing I have ever tried to wire up before.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3671625350.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	53571  
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:14 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpayne
Got my VDO today. Gonna try to get it in tomorrow. I am certainly no electrical wiz but what in the hell is a person supposed to do to connect a wire to the sender? The top of that thing looks like nothing I have ever tried to wire up before.
The same connector as the old one ... Or maybe a slightly different size should fir right on!
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:22 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Well there is a spade type connector on the one in there right now so I'm not sure how that will work.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0474.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	103.8 KB
ID:	53574
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:24 PM
ipgregory's Avatar
ipgregory
Status: Offline
Ian Gregory
'97 D90 ST #1008
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 1,083
Registry
If you're old one is a stud type connector then you need to change it to a spade type. The spade goes on from the side. See pic.

If your stock wire is really skinny then you're better off running a new wire back to the gauge from the sender to avoid false reading issues.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	New Sender.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	165.5 KB
ID:	53575  
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:25 PM
ipgregory's Avatar
ipgregory
Status: Offline
Ian Gregory
'97 D90 ST #1008
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Henderson, NV USA
Posts: 1,083
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpayne View Post
Well there is a spade type connector on the one in there right now so I'm not sure how that will work.

Attachment 53574
Cut a slot in the side of the plastic cover and slide it on the new one from the side.

Better to run a new wire though really.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:50 PM
michael67's Avatar
michael67
Status: Online
Michael White
110 Tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dripping Springs, Texas
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpayne View Post
Got my VDO today. Gonna try to get it in tomorrow. I am certainly no electrical wiz but what in the hell is a person supposed to do to connect a wire to the sender? The top of that thing looks like nothing I have ever tried to wire up before.
A standard female spade connector from Home Depot worked for me. Just cut the insulation on the open side of the spade connector and slide it on.
__________________
"Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the
black flag and start slitting throats." - H. L. Mencken
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:59 PM
Jpayne's Avatar
Jpayne
Status: Offline
Jeff Payne
'83 110 3 Door
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,393
Registry
Ok that makes total sense now.

Thanks so much!

Jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
ac

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp sender question cgalpin Defender Technical Discussions 8 February 18th, 2011 08:10 AM
Temp Sender Location DJ Menasco Defender Technical Discussions 10 August 28th, 2006 01:24 AM
95 D90 temp sender range naeirie Defender Technical Discussions 2 April 27th, 2005 12:16 PM
Temp gauge sender for '97? Chaucer Misc. Chit-Chat 6 February 24th, 2005 07:47 AM
Thread size for temp sender mgrgpg Defender Technical Discussions 3 July 1st, 2004 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Copyright