Temp gauge removal - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 01:02 PM
atpick's Avatar
atpick
Status: Offline
Andy
1990 110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 290
Registry
Temp gauge removal

Anybody know how to get the gauge out of the cluster?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3831371191.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	422.1 KB
ID:	68769   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-537188592.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	473.2 KB
ID:	68770  

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 01:35 PM
Broncoduecer's Avatar
Broncoduecer
Status: Offline
peter
D90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NV
Posts: 1,434
That little bracket has a circular nut on it that you can spin off by hand. When that is off and the wires are off you can pull it through. If you unhook the speedo cable you'll get some more room to play with. Squeeze the white connector and pull back from the speedo to release. Sometimes it needs a strong wiggle. At least that's what it's like on a 94.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 01:50 PM
atpick's Avatar
atpick
Status: Offline
Andy
1990 110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 290
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoduecer View Post
That little bracket has a circular nut on it that you can spin off by hand. When that is off and the wires are off you can pull it through. If you unhook the speedo cable you'll get some more room to play with. Squeeze the white connector and pull back from the speedo to release. Sometimes it needs a strong wiggle. At least that's what it's like on a 94.
Ok the nut if off but still seems in there pretty good, does it slide forward or back?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 02:06 PM
Broncoduecer's Avatar
Broncoduecer
Status: Offline
peter
D90
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NV
Posts: 1,434
I think after years they get gunk behind the face ring and it kind of glues them in there. I would think now you should be able to rotate it and then push it out. Maybe some windex in the groove between the dash and the ring might loosen it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 02:56 PM
atpick's Avatar
atpick
Status: Offline
Andy
1990 110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 290
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncoduecer View Post
I think after years they get gunk behind the face ring and it kind of glues them in there. I would think now you should be able to rotate it and then push it out. Maybe some windex in the groove between the dash and the ring might loosen it?
Ok, thanks for the help for it switched out, now just trying to find where the speedo cable hoks back up to....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 03:25 PM
atpick's Avatar
atpick
Status: Offline
Andy
1990 110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 290
Registry
Now the speedo won't work, think I unhooked something, does have something to do torn this little weird metal thing...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4182438130.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	487.8 KB
ID:	68796   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3491185564.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	474.3 KB
ID:	68797  

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 04:48 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by atpick View Post
Now the speedo won't work, think I unhooked something, does have something to do torn this little weird metal thing...
The connector in the middle of the speedo is probably loose. Be careful though they are pretty fragile.
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 23rd, 2013, 04:55 PM
atpick's Avatar
atpick
Status: Offline
Andy
1990 110
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 290
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by leastonce View Post

The connector in the middle of the speedo is probably loose. Be careful though they are pretty fragile.
Yeah, I checked it and it appears the cable broke somewhere down line from the gauge as I was able to pull it out from the engine bay. Oh well, something to fix when I get back from the suck. I like the new gauge though. Interesting tidbit, it runs about 10 to 15 degrees cooler on propane.,.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1090728739.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	436.4 KB
ID:	68819   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-643307233.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	413.7 KB
ID:	68820  

Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
diameter of stock temp gauge naeirie Defender Technical Discussions 2 March 2nd, 2005 06:34 PM
Temp gauge sender for '97? Chaucer Misc. Chit-Chat 6 February 24th, 2005 07:47 AM
Temp Gauge dbwitt Defender Technical Discussions 5 March 18th, 2004 08:14 PM
temp gauge ron Wanted 0 December 10th, 2003 12:44 PM
Temp gauge on H perminently ron Defender Technical Discussions 1 December 8th, 2003 05:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Copyright