Tell me why I should/should not buy a D90 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 11th, 2006, 01:44 AM
fustogrande
brian girasoli

Smile Tell me why I should/should not buy a D90

I know this is on a D-90 board anyway, so I have a feeling the answers might be skewed, but ...

I ask this because I have always been interested in Defender 90s. However, after doing some snooping, I am pretty much stuck back to where I started from.

I am very familiar with earlier Land Rovers, I am not a newbie. I restored, from the ground up, a 1967 Series IIa a couple of years ago. I knew that thing like the back of my hand. However, because I was going back to school to get a masters degree, it had to go to pay for that. I've always regretted that decision, but it was necessary back then.

So, while I love land rovers, a Series would just not be practical as an everyday car. I have about a 30-minute commute into work each day and a 30+-year-old car, well, I wasn't too up for that. It's too bad, because there's a '69 IIa that's fully restored near me for sale that I keep driving past and I wind up getting neck cramps.

Hence, the D-90.

I have never been in one for a drive. I'm assuming it's bumpy, but I could care less; my everyday car is a '99 Ford Ranger 4x4 where you can feel every bump no matter what. Is it loud, like the early Jeep CJ's? Or like the Series?

I would assume the D-90 leaks a lot less than the Series (although I could be wrong)? Is the maintenence schedule more/less/the same than a Disco?

I know they get bad gas mileage, but my truck gets around 12-14. So again, that's not a problem - unless it gets measured in gallons per mile. Does it cruise comfortably at 65?

Are they drafty (with the soft top)? Elements stay out? It always laughed at the river I had going down my driver's door in the Series IIa when it rained (and could never seem to fix it).