TDi injection pump tuning - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old September 29th, 2016, 01:53 PM
spaeth
Craig Spaeth
93 RRC LWB 300TDI

TDi injection pump tuning

An upfront disclaimer I am by no means an expert on this, but some ideas I have learned while fumbling my way through the injection pump on my 300 Tdi in my RRC and the one in my Dad's Disco 1.

I am just going to talk about the adjustments and give two links to how to adjust each one.

I am only addressing the 3 adjustments accessed through the cover on the side of the pump. The outside screw under the outside press in cover is the amount of fuel that is added from off idle before there is any boost. This screw really helps driving off from a stop. It does not have a huge effect on EGT temps, but will put out a fair amount of black smoke and waste fuel if turned up too far. I turned this down until it was painful to pull away and then slowly brought it back until the drivability was there, with as little fuel as possible.

The star wheel adjusts how much fuel is supplied as the boost comes up. You turn the star clockwise to loosen the spring tension which will supply more fuel at lower boost levels. Counter clockwise takes more boost pressure to start adding in more fuel. Getting this setting right REALLY helps overall drivability. Don't be afraid to really dial this in. As with all of these adjustments mark your starting point so you can go back if you need to. People talk about adjusting this in full or half turns, but even after you get in the ballpark 1/4 turns can make a difference in the midrange feel. This adjustment can do more to EGT temps but not quite as much as the diaphragm adjustments. I would not do ANY of these adjustments without an EGT gauge as you can cause critical damage.