Switches...where to put them - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old November 6th, 2008, 10:52 AM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Switches...where to put them

I have 6 Carling switches that I need to mount in my 110. I had originally planned to mount them in a box affixed to the front of the tuffy console, but have since changed my mind (or at least can't use the orig. box I had planned for this). so now I am trying to decide where to mount them. I am considering putting them right in the seatbox under the driver seat or directly on the front of the tuffy, but the problem with both of those locations is that the switches are vertical and facing away from you, so they will be difficult to read/view the function diagrams. What do you guys think? Any ideas? I can't use an iron goat or anything because it is an NAS 110.
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:15 PM
NashvilleRover's Avatar
NashvilleRover
Status: Offline
Dendy Jarrett
2009 LR3- Well Built
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee - USA
Posts: 819
I am working on the very same project.

This is what I am coming up with:

http://www.mudstuff.co.uk/Mudpod.html

It mounts where the ash tray goes (and unless you are a smoker ... who needs it!)
It doesn't damage or require any drilling and all wires come in from behind.

I think this is available at Expedition Exchange.

Let me know what you think.

Dendy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:19 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Wouldn't that block defroster flow?
I know my 90 has a seriously hard time keeping the ice and slush off the center section of the windscreen and that would make it worse, unless you have a heated windscreen or live in CA.
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:35 PM
NashvilleRover's Avatar
NashvilleRover
Status: Offline
Dendy Jarrett
2009 LR3- Well Built
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nashville, Tennessee - USA
Posts: 819
I do have the heated windscreen (thank goodness), but I didn't think of that issue. It looks like it would sit between but I would have to get measurements.

Just want something that can accommodate the need without hacking up the truck. There is the empty space where the clock et al resides in a 90 that is empty, but I hate to cut that up.

Dendy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:48 PM
JimC's Avatar
JimC
Status: Offline
Jim Cheney
NAS 110 #145
Site Team
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 7,154
Registry
Are you using the Tuffy for a radio? I put my Espar controls and 12v outlets in the DIN hole. There's no need for a radio anyway.
__________________
Jim Cheney

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:51 PM
ECR's Avatar
ECR
Status: Offline
East Coast Rover Co.
Just Defenders, nothing else.
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rockland, ME, USA
Posts: 4,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by NashvilleRover
I. There is the empty space where the clock et al resides in a 90 that is empty, but I hate to cut that up.

Dendy
There is not much depth behind there in a NAS 110.
The AC/Heat duct is right behind that, so measure before you cut a hole in there.

Follow-up Post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC
There's no need for a radio anyway.

Are you nutz??

What do you do to drown out the tire noise?? Listen to the voices in your head?
__________________
Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I do not check PMs. Call or email if you need something.

ECR is not a parts source. We are not in the mail order business.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 6th, 2008, 03:44 PM
Stmpede's Avatar
Stmpede
Status: Offline
Andrew Najarian
'93 NAS D110 #43
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,459
Yeah, I had planned to mount a light (like Len's) with the seat heater switches and two additional 12v outlets in the area where a 90 has its clock etc. but found out (fortunately before I cut the dash) that there is no room for anything there in a 110.

I'm not sure about that pod, I like the idea, but I'm not sure I want them way up there, plus it is way bigger than just 6 switches, it will leave a lot of extra room unless I put the 12v outlets and seat heater switches up there too, but that is a lot of lights right in your field of vision.

Jim...of course I have a radio! I have often thought that would be a perfect place for them, but I don't have another place to put the radio then, and like Mike said, I've gotta drown out the tire noise with some tunes!

I am not thinking about modifying my headliner to accommodate the switches, has anyone else done this? If so I would love to see some pics!
__________________
"I have taken more good from alcohol than alcohol has taken from me." - Winston Churchill
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 6th, 2008, 09:54 PM
shawnpalmer's Avatar
shawnpalmer
Status: Offline
Shawn Palmer
1997 SW-Arles Blue
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lake Lanier, Ga.
Posts: 1,134
Registry
I know it won't help much for a 110, but just for reference for anyone with a 90 here are a couple of shots of my switches.
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n...r/100_3019.jpg
http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n...r/100_3017.jpg
__________________
There is a fine line between hobby and mental illness.

97 D90 SW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
switch

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
air intake hose?? / source for cheap switches NASD90 Defender Technical Discussions 15 July 6th, 2005 02:40 PM
Who Has put one Slickrock gas tank skids? revor Misc. Chit-Chat 4 May 22nd, 2005 11:39 AM
Where did you put your ECU jcasteel Defender Technical Discussions 6 January 12th, 2005 11:31 AM
arb switches - where to put scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 8 January 10th, 2005 09:25 PM
HELP!! I can't put my tranny in gear... JRowe Defender Technical Discussions 1 October 12th, 2003 12:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Copyright