Stumped- 300 Tdi running hot- - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old April 23rd, 2014, 08:05 AM
skrufy
Tim Timmins
1987/Defender 110

Stumped- 300 Tdi running hot-

300 Tdi engine gurus..... a search of the forums didn't come up with any similar issue....

'87 D110 300 Tdi with manual 5 speed. I am fairly new to my D110 with it's 300 Tdi, but have owned my '95 D1 since new, have wrenched on my 911s for -gasp!- 40 years now, and have had my '52 Willys M38A1 Army jeep/matching '51 M100 1/4ton trailer for 38 years now- fully restored- do the parade thing, etc.

I bought my 110 from the PO in Connecticut last year in April 2013, and drove it back to Arizona last May. A family visit put me into Charlotte for a few days in route. Maybe a 100 miles north of there I started to get an overheat indication. A quick inspection revealed the coolant reservoir to be slightly low, but nothing appeared to be overly hot. Temp gage got worse, but nothing spectacular heat wise. Looking for any excuse to impose on the in-laws to the max extent, I honored the indication, and ended up replacing the thermostat and viscous fan clutch. Still indicated hot. Thinking I had one of the rubber impeller water pumps, I put in a new metal vane pump, taking out the metal vaned pump that was already in there- oh well.

The radiator was new, and I flushed out the block, heater core, and radiator too- all clean- no crapola flushed out. Put in all fresh 50/50 coolant. Also installed a $17 mechanical temp gage from Pep Boys- attached the gage to my snorkel, taped up the openings as I was going to be running in the rain for a while, and pressed on to Arizona. Culprit was the $9 temp sender. Again, oh well- cooling system is all new. All was well, ran about 190-192F all the way home.