Stripped Transmission Filler-Plug - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 19th, 2011, 09:38 AM
norros
Nicholas Orros
1995 NAS D90 SW

Stripped Transmission Filler-Plug

Hello my D90 brothers...

It's been a while. Just had my 9th anniversary with my Defender...

I have been neglecting the vehicle by having someone else work on it. These IDIOTS in town called DERMEISTER... don't even get me started.

In any case... The head IDIOT mechanic tightened down the manual transmission (1995 NAS D90) filler plug to no end and when I went to check the fluids, like I have been doing for 9 years, give or take... I stripped it. I'm so pissed. I've never stripped an inside plug like that and I don't know how to get it out.

I'm guessing I'm going to have to buy a new one.

Can anyone help in telling me how I can get that out? My mistake may have bee using an 8mm allen wrench... But it's been fine all this time.

Thank you.

norros
Nicholas Orros
Tallahassee, FL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old February 19th, 2011, 10:08 AM
CMS3900
Morgan
1974 SIII 109

did the allen part strip or did the threads strip? if the allen part stripped you have three decent options. First is put a nut over it and weld the inside of the nut to it and remove it. If you don't have acess to a welder, you will probably have to drill a hole through it and use a big easy out. Start with a high quailty drill bit and try it slow with coolant, if it dosen't cut a cheap trick is using a small masonry bit becuase its carbide tipped. Once you have a hole and a easy out it should come out. The third is if its proud of the transmission case you might be able to finesse it out with a small sharp chisel and a light hammer. a little heat might help too becuase aluminum expands alot faster than steel.
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:41 AM
Naplm00
Matthew
1983 110 200tdi 3 door soft top