Strangest engine fault ever - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 9th, 2008, 12:43 PM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
Exclamation Strangest engine fault ever

Went to work fine this AM. Dropped off the little one at school then went to a Dr. appt. Leaving the Dr. appt, I get in, the engine struggles at idle, I try to drive off and it dies. Start it again, rough idle then dies. Keeps doing that. I have a diesel, so troubleshooting get's much simpler. Fuel or air, that simple. In diagnosis, rough struggling idle, dies under acceleration. Ok, classic fuel starvation. Recently replaced filters (primary and Racor prefilter). Either lift pump has died (please God, not now), or got some really bad fuel that clogged one of the filters. Seriously doubt that as I have been somewhat good about filter draining, and I doubt evern terrible gas is going to plug the Racor in that short of time.

So I open the bonnet, and pull out the small air bleed screw in the top of the stock filter mount. it's bone dry...that is strange. even with a plugged filter, on first power loss, there should at least be something in there, right? So I decide, somehow, the primary filter must be completely plugged. I go to Napa, and buy a replacement, and throw that on. After priming the Racor, and priming the primary, I still get nothing in the outflow chamber on the primary filter. WTF? I loosen the inflow line and diesel comes spraying out (that Racor pump really works well). clearly not a flow from the Racor issue. I end up pulling all lines off of the filter mount, and remove the filter, as it is clear that fuel cannot flow between the inflow and outflow of the mount. Even trying to blow air from inlet to outlet gets nothing, completely blocked. WTFx2?

Having determined that there is a total blockage in the priming pump of the primary fuel mount, I decide that only option is to bypass, using Racor now as primary, by moving the outlet line to the opposing side inlet line.

Engine starts right up, no problem. The Racor website lists the Racor as fine enough to be a primary, so I'll run on that as a single filter and order a replacement mount. But seriously, who has ever heard of the fuel filter mount failing and causing total blockage?

To make matters worse, I have to drive 2 hours after lunch to report for 3 weeks of duty with the national guard. bad day to be set back.

There is a morale to this story, having 2 filters has it's merits for field fix solutions.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old May 9th, 2008, 01:07 PM
dmarchand's Avatar
dmarchand
Status: Offline
David Marchand
'97 D90 SW Arles
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New England
Posts: 2,862
Registry
That is odd. My racor unit sits in a box in Matt's shop where it has been for oh, two years. Maybe I need to carry it as a spare...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 9th, 2008, 02:10 PM
Uncle Douglas's Avatar
Uncle Douglas
Status: Offline
Doug Crowther
A defender in every driveway-motto
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gods Country- Central Virginia
Posts: 11,833
Registry
is there possibly a one way/anti siphon valve in the filter mount base that got stuck ?
__________________
Good judgement comes from experience,experience comes from bad judgement.

Dividing Creek Imports
Worldwide Vehicle Shipment and Importation Service
Restoration & Modification work


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

410.693.1391


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old May 9th, 2008, 02:49 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Those primary filter housing M&D uses in their kit with the hand pump built in is most likely the problem. I have never liked them. Get a Land Rover replacement housing without priming pump. That is why I put on the Racores.

You can run it like that for a while, until you can replace the restricted housing . You have the 10 micron filter on now for the Raycore.

JP
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 10th, 2008, 01:37 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
Thanks pendy. I was wanting to get your opinion on what to replace it with. Do you have the rover part number so I can source and order while I am away?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 10th, 2008, 12:04 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
I'll dig around for a used one. Don't you have a parts CD to look at?
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 12th, 2008, 01:06 AM
RyanS's Avatar
RyanS
Status: Offline
Ryan
'93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 426
Mark - Sorry to hear about your problem, but glad you made me aware of it. I'm still running that filter mount that came in the M&D kit so it's probably the same as yours. I looked up the 300 Tdi filter mount, and it's PN NTC1518. It's only shown as a complete assy with the filter, and it doesn't have the priming pump.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 12th, 2008, 06:56 AM
junkyddog11's Avatar
junkyddog11
Status: Offline
oil soaked filter
95 RRC 300tdi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: No. Berwick, Maine
Posts: 1,253
why not ditch the thing and just run the Racor?

...not you Dave, there is no place left to put one on your truck other than perhaps the passenger seat (my filter travels there sometimes)

Follow-up Post:

what I meant by "ditch it" was to run a Racor final filter...120A I think. In addition to the Racor primary.
__________________
Matt Browne


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
new expansion complete. Not only are we the only Rover shop in Eliot Maine...now we're also the biggest.

"Dedicated to the resurrection of junk through engineering?"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old June 1st, 2008, 05:38 PM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanS
Mark - Sorry to hear about your problem, but glad you made me aware of it. I'm still running that filter mount that came in the M&D kit so it's probably the same as yours. I looked up the 300 Tdi filter mount, and it's PN NTC1518. It's only shown as a complete assy with the filter, and it doesn't have the priming pump.
Back from my 3 weeks of Missipppi fun. Thanks for the info. Does this part (NTC1518) use the same replaceable filter? Original 300tdi type?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old June 1st, 2008, 10:56 PM
pendy's Avatar
pendy
Status: Offline
jim pendleton
89'd90
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: andover, ks usa
Posts: 2,341
Yes same filter. Did not have any luck finding an extra used. But Ebay UK had some sell while you were away.

JP
__________________
legend in my own mind

Advice is only as good as the person applying it--
Don't make me give you bad advice!

Lemons or lemonaide, whatever your taste provides.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 01:38 AM
RyanS's Avatar
RyanS
Status: Offline
Ryan
'93 NAS 110
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 426
Mark - I got that part number right out of the 90/110 300 Tdi parts catalog. So as Pendy said, it should use the same filter. I'm going to order one as well so I have a spare just in case. I looked at putting one of my spare Racors in there, but they're a little bigger and the fittings don't work out as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 2nd, 2008, 09:03 AM
Overlander's Avatar
Overlander
Status: Offline
mark kellgren
in between D's in an 04 D2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,531
Registry
thanks guys. good info!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
engine

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Proble: Please Advise saber6 Defender Technical Discussions 24 November 6th, 2009 10:06 AM
service engine VS. check engine scubadanster Defender Technical Discussions 18 June 23rd, 2009 11:18 AM
Fault Code 48/fast engine idle speed arbik Defender Technical Discussions 9 June 2nd, 2006 07:02 AM
Oil Info XD90 Defender Technical Discussions 5 September 7th, 2004 10:07 PM
???still can't get the trany unbolted from the engine???? kit Defender Technical Discussions 4 October 23rd, 2003 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 AM.


Copyright