Stock Versus Built - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old January 2nd, 2009, 04:48 PM
Lriwater
Chuck Niskey
1994 D-90

Stock Versus Built

Hello,
I'm a newb... I have tried searching. All I found were threads saying that D90 is a much better choice than the Rubicon. I know that already!

What do you folks think about getting a stock D-90 that hasn't been offroaded, needing lots of $$$ for upgrades (lockers, tires, bumpers, lift, etc), versus getting a totally built D90 that has been thrashed a bit? Considering the same price for both trucks, which is the best value in your opinions?

Cheers,
Chuck
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old January 2nd, 2009, 05:57 PM
woldd90
Scott
1997 D90 ST #1444
Site Team

If you are going to off-road it, buy one already built up... Just make sure it is set up as close to the way you want it, so you don't have to re-do a bunch of stuff. Then you would end up wasting more money. Also, make sure that it is has been set up correctly, with good quality components and a good clean installation.

Old January 2nd, 2009, 07:09 PM
rover4x4
Phillip
1995 SW #487/500

Registry
Many trucks I see generally lack the attention to detail I like. I think most people that go the extra mile in the details keep thier trucks. I am sure you can find a "modded" truck that would be a good start, but you might also be inheriting someone elses headache... If you are going to "thrash" it why not just go ahead a buy a beater and save some potential heartache? A 90 can be as good as a Rubi just needs a little help.
Advertisement

Old January 2nd, 2009, 07:22 PM
GYM
Gary
97 SW

For the use you have indicated; buy a truck that already has the off road modifications..
Old January 2nd, 2009, 10:09 PM
Oxcart13
Mark M
D110