Smoking, newbie panic, member thank you - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 21st, 2016, 09:54 AM
mteibel@nc.rr.com
Mitch
1985 ROW Ninety

Smoking, newbie panic, member thank you

It was warm enough yesterday for a quick jaunt in the truck. After about a mile, smoke starts billowing out of the passenger side floor. I am still learning the layout of things on this truck, but remember the gas tanks are under the passenger seats, so I unbuckle the belt (for a potential quick exit) and get to the nearest parking lot (about 500').

I text the only 2 forum members who I have cell phone numbers for to determine if it is safe to drive the truck home. My fears ... (1) I wind up as crispy bacon and (2) future forum members will pick the carcass of this ROW 90 apart for cheap parts (after the insurance settlement). I go into the local Lowes hardware to kill some time and to buy a flashlight. I run into a old friend who I've not seen in a while we catch-up ... the entire time (20 mins.), I'm wondering if the truck is ignited in the lot. I am reasonably relaxed, because of the insurance policy.

Brewie212 thanks for the call, I promise future pings only if I believe my life hangs in the balance. The truck made it home fine and what ever fluid "needed burning off" seemed to have occurred while the truck sat in the parking lot.

I've snapped a few pictures of the parts under the truck that look suspect to this noob:
(1) picture 1 - looks like a worm hanging down, some type of seal mucho dark matter spewed on the aluminum looking part nearby.
(2) picture 2 - a hose that goes to somewhere is rotted, but I don't see any fluid splattering near this hose. I have checked the transmission, oil, brake and PS and don't see measurable low levels of fluid in these systems.

Other pictures where I noticed leaks or fluid active have been uploaded. Other notable information: