Shopping next Week (Los Angeles) - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old July 8th, 2010, 01:22 AM
Suppatime
Drew Suppa
None (yet)

Shopping next Week (Los Angeles)

Anybody on here from the greater LA area want to help me out?

I found a Defender for sale in Pasadena that I want to check out, but as I'm new to these trucks, I'd like a more experienced second opinion for engine/chassis.

The truck I found is a 1964 Series II that has been updated with all 1994 Defender 90 parts. Looks like a good job from the photos I've seen, with minimal frame rust or body damage. If it runs well, I think it's my new ride.

As I live in California, anything I need to worry about considering it's a diesel RHD? My thoughts are... if it's already registered here in SoCal (registered PNO), wouldn't it already be legal in this state to make it operational again? And without smog because it's older than 1974?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, gents.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old July 8th, 2010, 02:14 AM
bharris
Brad Harris
1994 d90 300tdi "Nola"

I think the cutoff for smog testing a diesel is 96 so anything older is fine (as long as the title says it's a diesel) you can check the dmv website for the exact...

which diesel engine is in it? Are you looking for someone to go and check it out for you?
Old July 8th, 2010, 09:31 AM
Suppatime
Drew Suppa
None (yet)

Looking for someone to go with me next week. I have a pretty strong background in cars/trucks, but as I'm new to Defenders (other than appreciating them), I'd like someone more knowledgable to join me as I'd most likely miss issues other than rust, leaks, brakes, clutch, etc.