Shoot me - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old November 3rd, 2006, 09:31 AM
Black_and_Blue
Tommy Moore
1994 #1398

Registry
Angry Shoot me

Ah, the love affair is beginning to erode. Bought my 94 ST (#355) in August, only had 57k miles but (as you'd expect) I've been working the kinks out of her for the past three months.

Unfortunately one of the things that had gone wrong was the temp sensor -- had it replaced twice (first replacement was bad) -- as the temp gauge was showing the truck running hot when that wasn't the case. So for the past three weeks the gauge was fine, and then last night on the drive home it swung toward the hot end. Like a moron I assumed the sensor wasn't reading right and figured I'd take her back in and get it fixed, again.

Then the good times started. About 1.5 miles later (four blocks from my house) I smelled that smell, the one you know can't be good. Turn off my radio and could hear the engine whining, as a plus it was idling really high (at 1200 rpms).

Pull it over and pop the hood, and while it smelled like a busy day in Fallujah all the belts were fine. After letting it cool down checked the coolant overflow tank and it was full. Walked home cursing and would have posted immediately but the wife had a house full of people over and I had to hide my agony. At least there was a good football game on.

So here I am this morning, sitting at my desk courtesy of my 1992 4 Runner with 100,000 miles that's never given me a single problem. I'll get the Rover to a mechanic tomorrow, hoping some of you have had the same experience (ie driving it when you shouldn't) and can tell me what's in store. I acknowledge that I'm an idiot and listen to my music too loudly.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old November 3rd, 2006, 10:25 AM
Coiler
Ernie Novey
1995 D1 and 1991 RRC SWB