Shifting Problems - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old October 16th, 2006, 10:30 AM
Big D
Daniel Brown

Shifting Problems

Last two days have had shifting problems. Very tuff to get it in gear. Have to almost force it into the next gear. If I sit on the clutch longer it eventually will find its way in easy but I feel like I am going to burn out the clutch this way. Any suggestions? Thanks for your time and advice?

Daniel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 16th, 2006, 10:35 AM
revtor
Steve Maietta
1969 IIA 88" Bugeye

Registry
This just started happening? Does it get better as the truck warms up?
Check your tranny oil level! Put new ATF in there, if it doesn't get better then I guess your synchros are shot..? Im no expert by any means.

let us know..
~Steve
Old October 16th, 2006, 12:15 PM
Big D
Daniel Brown

just started to happen all of a sudden this weekend. Does not get better while driving it longer. The scary thing is turning a corner and down shifting. Cant get it back in gear sometimes and actually need to come to a complete stop.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 16th, 2006, 01:17 PM
Roadsiderob
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor

I would be looking at the clutch hydraulics first to see if there is a leak that has allowed the fluid level to drop and air to get into the system. Has the pedal effort and engagement point changed?
Old October 16th, 2006, 05:20 PM
Big D
Daniel Brown

YES! Both have happened the clutch is way easier and the point is way further in.
Old October 16th, 2006, 05:33 PM
Roadsiderob
Robert Dassler
1994 D90
D-90 Source Vendor