School me on T-case removal! - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old October 15th, 2006, 02:03 PM
Buckon37s
Buck
Re-Fendered 90

School me on T-case removal!

It looks like I have to pull my t-case to get to the diff lock that is likely toast. Any help anyone can give me on dropping the t-case is most appreciated! I have never done this before. Hope it is not that bad. Thanks in advance!

Dave

BUCK Wild Racing
Driver: Me
Co-driver: Pat Quirk
Team 911

Rover Tracks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PSC
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DJ Safety
West Coast Rovers
Reel Driveline
Made it further than half of the other guys, but the Hammers won.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old October 15th, 2006, 02:49 PM
Hans
Hans Haase
The D-90.com Lab Rat

I haven't done it on my defender, yet, but I have dropped a few out over the years and they aren't much different from pulling a transmission. But the bottom side of most transfer cases are at a pretty steep angle that makes it tricky to balance them on a transmission jack. The shop manual has plans to make an adaptor plate to go between the transfer case and tranny jack that looks like it will make it a LOT easier. IIRC a couple people on the forum already have these made up and are willing to lend them out. Otherwise I can always copy and mail you the plans. There are also a few things you have to fiddly with in the linkage for the selector lever to get clearance. Again, I can copy the manual page if you need it.