Rust/replacing fuel lines/flamability issues/'94 D90 - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old February 25th, 2015, 08:18 PM
schultzga
Andrew
1994 Defender 90

Registry
Rust/replacing fuel lines/flamability issues/'94 D90

Hi,

This is my first time posting in one of these forums, so I apologize in advance if I break any rules or customs . I am also not mechanically inclined; I'm looking for a mechanic or shop to do the work I am about to ask about. Thought I would try you guys first from some advice. I did a thread search and didn't see anything immediately on point.

I have a 1994 Defender 90 (3.9L V8) with only 70,000 miles on it. It recently broke down in Macon Georgia, where my Mom lives. Rather than try to re-invent the wheel, here is the craigslist ad i posted regarding my issues:

"1994 Defender 90. Two problems. Half-inch cut in the oil hose from the radiator to the bottom of the oil filter ("oil cooler hose??"). Second problem is gas leak, probably in the gas lines (no apparent holes on bottom of gas tank but it has been recommended that both gas tank and lines be replaced). First garage I took it to won't work on it due to extreme amount of rust on undercarriage (and flammability issues raised by welding/grinding parts off). Rear deck may be screwed in giving access to the fuel system. No engine damage; mechanics were able to get it running. Truck is in Macon at Raffield's but I can have it towed 100 miles with AAA."

I guess my two questions for y'all are 1) what do you think about the flamability issues? 2) Anybody know a good mechanic/garage in the middle Georgia area (ideally within 100 miles of Macon, which would include Atlanta)? I haven't paged through the entire "recommended locations to have your rover fixed" thread yet but will try to tomorrow. Thanks in advance for any advice.

- Andrew