Runs great, then sudden death - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old January 12th, 2011, 11:20 PM
Bama 90
1995 D-90
Runs great, then sudden death

Hey guys, obviously im new here so go easy on me!! :-) This is my third rover so im not a total newb. Gears, axles and all that off road stuff is no problem with me but anything involving wires just kills me! Please help.

Mine is a 1995. 90% of the time it runs great but three times now it just straight up dies while driving. Im talking just a smooth stretch of road. No hills, bumps, sudden braking, no rain or anything. Doesnt matter hot, cold, wet or dry. Just runs great, then 100% dead. Pull to the side of the road, turn the key off and it will restart and act all normal for several days.

Also, about 1 out of every 5 starts nothing will happen when I turn the key. No click or anything. Then try again and its perfect.

My first guess is that the ignition switch is bad but with it running, I can wiggle it, hit the steering wheel and it wont act up.

Any help would be appreicated.

Old January 12th, 2011, 11:32 PM
1994/D90 NAS
I'd start with checking your battery ground. Then look at your coil/distributor. ?
But I'm just guessing... others?

Old January 13th, 2011, 01:16 AM
Neill Thornton
1984 D90 300 Tdi / 1965 Series IIA
Site Team
When the truck dies, do you lose everything else, i.e. radio, gauges, headlights, etc? Or does the engine just stop running?
Old January 13th, 2011, 01:32 AM
chris snell
Chris Snell
87 Ex-MOD 110
Definitely check the coil. I had this problem when I was a new Defender owner. The little spade connector on the coil came loose and would cause the truck to die immediately. You can replace this connector with a ring connector if you like.
Old January 13th, 2011, 09:50 AM
mark kellgren
93' NAS 110- #234