RRC 3.9L leaking oil like a sieve - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old May 30th, 2014, 09:19 AM
corrumpu
chris b
1995/RRC SWB

Registry
RRC 3.9L leaking oil like a sieve

Out of nowhere my truck starts dumping oil (ok not just a drop or a juicy engine).
Abnormal amounts of oil. While the engine is running I can see it literally pumping out from what appears to be the front main seal (ish) area. (centered on the engine, south of the alternator) I'm an internet/rave mechanic so bare with me.

After looking through rave I'm assuming this is the front main seal. What else should I order to swap while tearing it apart to swap that out?

1) front main seal
2) front cover gasket
3) water pump gasket?

I know there must be a "while you're there" list.
Any help is appreciated.

--chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old May 31st, 2014, 12:14 AM
robertf
Robert F
1995 Discovery

Quote:
Originally Posted by corrumpu View Post
Out of nowhere my truck starts dumping oil (ok not just a drop or a juicy engine).
Abnormal amounts of oil. While the engine is running I can see it literally pumping out from what appears to be the front main seal (ish) area. (centered on the engine, south of the alternator) I'm an internet/rave mechanic so bare with me.

After looking through rave I'm assuming this is the front main seal. What else should I order to swap while tearing it apart to swap that out?

1) front main seal
2) front cover gasket
3) water pump gasket?

I know there must be a "while you're there" list.
Any help is appreciated.

--chris
I've had oil pressure switches do this on more than 1 Rover. I threw a lot of parts at the engine the first time I encountered this before locating the leak.
Old May 31st, 2014, 01:21 AM
ArmyRover
Bill Ski
83 110 "Frankenstein"