Rovergauge cable help - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 07:10 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
Rovergauge cable help

The shop sent me the 3.3V cable in lieu of the 5V USB-TO-SERIAL cable. Can I still use that or do I need to return it? Can I possibly use a different value resistor in order to compensate?

If you know, please share. I am not savvy on this end of computer stuff...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 10:10 PM
leastonce's Avatar
leastonce
Status: Offline
Jason England
D-90 White 95 SW #65
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,078
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davis View Post
The shop sent me the 3.3V cable in lieu of the 5V USB-TO-SERIAL cable. Can I still use that or do I need to return it? Can I possibly use a different value resistor in order to compensate?

If you know, please share. I am not savvy on this end of computer stuff...
I don't know but I'd get the proper cable if you can. It's complex enough trying to troubleshoot without have a cable that's non-standard!
__________________
Quote:
Soapy water / KY jelly, etc. is is basically a must. Yes, good idea to remove trim panels - only takes 5 more minutes to do so.
Car Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Cat Camping Collective founding member and Chief Executive Officer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 12:01 AM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
Looks like the resistor is to protect the CPU signal output from damaging the computer on the receive line. The 5v output is necessary to trigger the CPU to receive input and the 3.3 v just isn't powerful enough. That's what I'm thinking. I'll test it tomorrow, see what's up... Thinking ill need 5v...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 08:09 AM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
The 14CUX has a non standard serial comunication setup, the Rx line is at system voltage (12v). The 390 ohm resistor drops the voltage down to protect the FTDI chip in the serial/usb converter. In my rush to try it, I accidentally ran without the resistor and everything worked ok. I have since added the resistor to avoid any future problems. This is the cable is used, works great: http://www.amazon.com/USB-Header-Lik...ef=pd_sxp_f_pt

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 08:14 AM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Someone reported using a cheaper cable as well - check the hardware wiki page
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 10:14 AM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
I used the resistor, but I get an error: "Error connecting to 14CUX. Could not open serial device: \\.\"

This may be that I need a stronger voltage to the ECU (than the 3.3V supplies), or it may be that I am doing something else wrong... (I did order my 5V version as well--have it next week)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 10:39 AM
MAX711's Avatar
MAX711
Status: Offline
Andrew Dance
1994 D-90 ST
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 114
1) Double check that you programed the FTDI chip to invert the RX line. Mine didn't take the first time for some reason.
2) Be sure it's wired exactly like the diagram with the TX and RX swapped. Another mistake I made.

After that, it's probably too low a voltage or your particular cable can't match the weird baud rate from the 14CUX automatically?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 01:57 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
I double checked the wiring and inverted the RX line. Still same "Error connecting to 14CUX. Could not open serial device: \\.\" I get this error whether or not the cable is even plugged into the computer, so I am unsure if it is a cable or maybe my laptop. The new cable is on order, but I am not 100% it is just the cable--could be my POS laptop...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 02:06 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
Stupid question, but have you selected the right port?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 02:25 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
I'd have to say probably not. Where do I select the port? I don't see that option in rovergauge. Sorry to be so stupid when it comes to this--I am not too savvy on this side of things. I am more of an under-the-hood sort of guy...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 02:29 PM
cgalpin's Avatar
cgalpin
Status: Offline
Charles Galpin
'94 D90 ST, '63 SeriesIIA
Site Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 11,625
Registry
I don't have it here to look at but check the file or options menu at the top left of the screen.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendy
I'm here for the D's
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old April 23rd, 2013, 03:00 PM
Davis's Avatar
Davis
Status: Offline
Chris Davis
94 NAS D90 6.2LS
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,503
Got it! Thanks. I believe it is working now--at least it is connecting (using the 3.3v version). MUCH APPRECIATED!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
rovergauge

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Detach Speedometer Cable Matt Klapmust Defender Technical Discussions 2 October 2nd, 2013 01:43 PM
speedo cable scoloco Defender Technical Discussions 7 November 3rd, 2005 07:54 AM
Kickdown cable on ZF, DOH! RedRhinoProducts Defender Technical Discussions 0 November 13th, 2004 10:32 AM
Sub woofer cable? wicks Defender Technical Discussions 17 May 18th, 2004 09:51 PM
Installing new kickdown cable...anyone? P1CR Defender Technical Discussions 4 December 19th, 2003 01:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Copyright