Reverse switch help - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Join the Defender Source Community Today

Old December 23rd, 2013, 07:43 AM
SimpleJack
Joe
94 D90 NAS ST

Registry
Reverse switch help

So as I've documented here before, I need a new reverse switch on my tranny. No power at bulb, check power is getting to switch, but not through when engaged in reverse.

I believe I have an R380 based on my research here discussing the tranny shift pattern ( im a noob having purchased truck 6 months ago). I've gone to local auto zone and Rovahfarm to get a switch. Both times I've received a switch as depicted on the left with part number AMR3918.

The switch I pull off is located to the right in the photo. Does someone recognize the switch? Do I have a different tranny?
Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	288
Size:	110.6 KB
ID:	86577  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 23rd, 2013, 07:45 AM
SimpleJack
Joe
94 D90 NAS ST

Registry
Ok
I'm goofed up and the photo flipped upside down. Read left as right and right as left in the above post. Sorry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 23rd, 2013, 09:04 AM
NPT90
JT
D90 óriginalé

Registry
put your meter on the old one and check for continuity.

I mean push the plunger and see if your meter beeps or you get a reading.

Not doubting you on the power but I am trying to figure out how you would get a reading with reverse engaged. You'd have to hold one lead to the tranny case while holding the positive to the switch. Just for shits and giggles use the resistance test on the existing switch.

It sounds more like a ground problem at the reverse light housing (wouldn't be surprised, english garage mechanics like to use electrical tape and wrapped wires... horrible electricians)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old December 23rd, 2013, 10:42 AM
sonoronos
Ed