Replacing Belts and bonus question - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old March 24th, 2011, 06:53 PM
california
Geoff M
97 D90 SW

Replacing Belts and bonus question

So I have never worked on a car before in my life. I am enjoying figure things out but am really pretty useless as I start out. So far I have been amazed at what I have been able to figure out myself, with a lot of help from searching this board.

1. Recently I changed 2 belts. Successfully ridding myself of an annoying squeal. I had planned to replace all of them but the two on the right (alternator and ? see arrows) I had a hard time getting off. I loosened a lot of bolts and had no luck loosening the non-alternator belt. I figure it is a good idea to replace all these at once. Is that correct?

Any tips on getting these off?

2. Bonus Question:
When I got the truck the fan was not working. I found a melted fuse and connection (arrows in photo) When I replaced them the fan started working. Should I do more to find the original trouble that caused the melted connection and inline fuse?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	156
Size:	218.9 KB
ID:	37237   Click image for larger version

Name:	fuse1.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	197.0 KB
ID:	37238  

Click image for larger version

Name:	truckRight_s.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	404.0 KB
ID:	37240  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old March 24th, 2011, 07:48 PM
Grover
Mike
Birmabright Bread Box/Swagger Wagon

Registry
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by california View Post
1. Recently I changed 2 belts. Successfully ridding myself of an annoying squeal. I had planned to replace all of them but the two on the right (alternator and ? see arrows) I had a hard time getting off. I loosened a lot of bolts and had no luck loosening the non-alternator belt. I figure it is a good idea to replace all these at once. Is that correct?