Remote Reservoir - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old October 31st, 2013, 01:43 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Online
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,679
Registry
Remote Reservoir

Hey all,

Wondering if anyone is running remote reservoir 7100s/Fox shocks on the front of their D90/D110, and how they placed the reservoir and routed the line.

Thanks,
Zack
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old October 31st, 2013, 05:20 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
Hey all, Wondering if anyone is running remote reservoir 7100s/Fox shocks on the front of their D90/D110, and how they placed the reservoir and routed the line. Thanks, Zack
I welded some T tabs to my RTE shock towers and mounted them to side of the towers.
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 31st, 2013, 06:02 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Online
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,679
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf Fabrication View Post
I welded some T tabs to my RTE shock towers and mounted them to side of the towers.
You're referring to the adjustable towers? I'm trying to figure out how you'd get the remote reservoir through a stock tower to mount it elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #4  
Old October 31st, 2013, 06:21 PM
Wolf Fabrication's Avatar
Wolf Fabrication
Status: Offline
Sterling Archer
'08 D3
D-90 Source Vendor
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Oahu, HI
Posts: 7,453
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
You're referring to the adjustable towers? I'm trying to figure out how you'd get the remote reservoir through a stock tower to mount it elsewhere.
Therein lies your issue. You should get some new/better towers. Short of cutting a hole for the entire reservoir, or just the line, I don't know if you have another option.
__________________
"The most unreliable car in the world is the most reliable car in the world." -Jeremy Clarkson refering to the Range Rover


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Semper Fi!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 31st, 2013, 06:25 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Online
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,679
Registry
I just didn't know if there was a way. It's not for me... but thank you for the info, I had hoped there was an easy way out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 31st, 2013, 07:27 PM
Bmxer06pa's Avatar
Bmxer06pa
Status: Offline
Doug S
2000 disco 2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Virginia usa
Posts: 159
Is it a stock D2 tower?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 31st, 2013, 07:46 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Online
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,679
Registry
Nah I'm asking about a Defender for business purposes. My 7100s should slide right in
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 31st, 2013, 07:58 PM
Ray_G's Avatar
Ray_G
Status: Offline
Ray Gerber
54 S1 86", 96 D1 (Coyote), 06 D3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NoVA
Posts: 2,636
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z.G View Post
Nah I'm asking about a Defender for business purposes. My 7100s should slide right in
Doug's comment still pertains-switch the tower over to the Dii tower (potentially cutting it wider of desired)
R-
R
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 31st, 2013, 08:35 PM
Z.G's Avatar
Z.G
Status: Online
Zack
300Tdi 95 D1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 4,679
Registry
Thanks Ray, I already have some special looking D2 towers that should work nicely!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 1st, 2013, 12:53 AM
robertf
Status: Offline
Robert F
1995 Discovery
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 138
I have the 7100s on my D1. The bend radius for the line is too tight to mount them on the front or rear side. I had tabs welded to D2 towers that mounted them inboard of the frame, but that was too close to the exhaust for my comfort and mounting them outboard would contact the tire during flex.

They are currently zip tied to some extra mounting holes that were in the fender. Very ghetto, but I haven't had a problem with the mounting in 2 years.

I've since swapped out the d2 towers for some terra firmas I picked up while in englad. No gain, other than the sex appeal of cad plated chinese steel.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Tags
remote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote reservoir Saginaw pump on 200 Tdi? o2batsea Defender Technical Discussions 6 September 10th, 2016 06:52 AM
School Me on Remote Reservoir Shocks Wolf Fabrication Defender Technical Discussions 98 July 4th, 2013 02:15 AM
Bilstein 7100 remote reservoir shocks crown14 For Sale - Parts 6 February 20th, 2013 02:38 PM
FOX 12" travel Remote reservoir shocks! crown14 For Sale - Parts 2 September 3rd, 2010 08:35 PM
(4) Fox 2.0 Remote Reservoir 14" shocks WhiteD90 For Sale - Parts 13 January 17th, 2009 05:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Copyright