Rear diff questions.... - Defender Source
Defender Source  

Go Back   Defender Source > Defender & Series Technical Discussions > Defender Technical Discussions

Old June 13th, 2009, 04:32 AM
Cyborg
Larry Walton
'97 D-90 ST #2066 UK 4X4

Rear diff questions....

Having some noises coming from my rear end on my 97 ST that is concerning me. I have been driving the vehicle for about 5 years now and the sounds have always been present but seem to be getting worse.

Configuration:
Only have a one inch lift and am running 32 in tires.
I have an ARB installed in the front and rear. They were installed before I bought it so I am not certain what gearing I have .... they could be stock or ?

Problem:
Weird sounds. Between 40 and 45 mph the vehicle makes several sounds. A WHOAM WHOAM kind of deep humming sound (Possibly tires?) and then on top of that a high pitched singing sound with some gravelly scratchy sounds mixed in there. My mechanic says he believes it is the pinion gear in the rear diff vibrating and that I should not drive it in that noisy zone . He says that is increasing wear.

I would like to do the work myself but have not been into a diff before. I suspect that the pinion and (Ring gear?) will at least need to have their spacing or backlash (whatever it is called) adjusted at a minimum or they should be replaced.

I am looking for some guidance here as to how best to proceed.....

I would like to inspect it somehow with the least amount of disassembly possible and determine what parts I will need. I assume I will require bearings and will plan to have all of them on hand before I tear it all apart. Ideally I would like to have everything I will need on hand prior to the tear down. Is there a rebuild kit available for this?

What is the best way to inspect and figure out what I will need? How best to check the gears for too much wear?
How can I determine what gearing I have, to know what ring and pinion to order if need be?